Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
National MX News : Namibian MX Championships
14.02.2008 1st WESBANK Motocross Challenge in Windhoek (NAM) - Preview

Wesbank MX-Season starts on Saturday

On the 16th of February the mx-season of the howling two-stroke and roaring four-stroke engines starts. The Gallina Moto Cross Park, situated on the Waldschmidt-Eggfarm, opens its gates again for another year of Moto Cross action. Judging from the registration list, this season could become the best of all times. Alone twenty-three riders have registered for the 125/Open-Class! On the whole there is a lot of positive news: Two new race tracks have been built, namely the new track in Okahandja and the new Astra track at the Padstall, 100 km east of Windhoek on the road to Gobabis. Without a doubt, the sport is on a rise.
Frank Klosta (NAM)
Frank Klosta (NAM)
Traditionally this event is sponsored by Wesbank, the vehicle financing division of First National Bank of Namibia. The official name of the event: Wesbank Moto Cross Challenge.
Just like in previous years the protagonists of the 125cc Class will start together with the aces of the Open-Class (class without engine size restriction). The present champion in the 125cc Class, Frank Klosta will have to deal with pressure from a handful of really eager riders, namely Alexander Howard, Brannigan Wise, Eckhart Hall, Henry O’Kennedy, and Björn Bierbrauer who has returned home from Germany. These guys are all able to make life hard for Klosta. For the two climbers from the 85cc Class it will be hard work, but Mark Sternagel and Jaco Loots will do their best.
Henry O’Kennedy (NAM)
Henry O’Kennedy (NAM)
The before-mentioned riders are also known for thwarting the plans of the established Open-Class riders. Here the reigning champion is Ronnie Adams, who of course wants to defend his status. His strongest opponent will surely be Rainer Becker, who can look back on 8 championship titles. Dooly Engels and Wolfgang Rohe will also be part of the action again. Arno Engels, Tommi Gous, Rudi Brand and Heino Windisch have left a strong impression at the end of 2007 and Tony Viljoen, Jaco Huisamen and Ian Kotze will have improved as well. There will be some tough fighting for all positions – that’s a promise.
Jose Texeira (ANG)
Jose Texeira (ANG)
The races will get some "international flair" through the participation of the following riders: Tyletzki Yaugheny (Belarus), Richard Reid (Scottland), Ross Branch and Carr Lebatha (Botswana), and Jose Texeira (Angola).
Further classes with national status (meaning there will be official Namibian championship races) are the 50cc Class, where, like in the previous year, Michael Barlow, William Smith, Yoshua Becker and Jay-Em Tredoux fight for the title.
In the 65cc Class the champ will probably be none other than Tristan Muller, however the victory won’t be handed to him on a silver platter. He will have to reckon with strong opposition from Matthew Nederlof, but also from Joshua Texeira and Lee-Anne Smith.
The 85cc Class is strongly represented this season as well. Mark Sternagel stays the measure of all things again. His biggest contesters come from the coast – Schalk Louw and Niki Rossi. But also last year’s champion in the 65cc Class, Eric Garbers will want to have a part of the cake.
In the bikes supporting programme there will be races in the 50cc Juniors Class and in the Clubmen’s Class, however they do not have a national status.
Quad action
Quad action
Very popular among the spectators are the Quads-Classes. For the first time there will be Namibian championship races in some categories. They received the so-called national status from the NMSF (Namibian Moto Sport Federation). In other words, it is a recognition of the 4-Wheeler sport. Part of it are the Quads-A-Class, the class without engine size restriction. After Dirkie Baard’s stellar ascent last year, we are eager to see whether he can repeat this achievement.
Stephanus "Fanie" Lambrecht Steenkamp (NAM)
Stephanus "Fanie" Lambrecht Steenkamp (NAM)
After Ronnie Adams quit the 4-Wheelers – he will concentrate solely on his Moto Cross career – all eyes are fixed on ex-champion Fanie Steenkamp, who is probably the only one who can stand up to Baard. Noteworthy is also Michael Behnke who climbed up from the Clubmen’s Class, as well as Rodney Davies, Wilber Ockhuizen, Jean Venter and Phillip Weakley who always aim for a podium spot, to name just a few.
The Ladies-Quads-Class will have national status as well in 2008. The Bochert-sisters will have to reckon with strong opposition from Cee-Anne Greyling, Mandy Huysamen and Celene Adams... action guaranteed! In the Quads-B-Class we will again count on an outstanding Eugene Slippers. Ecki Spoerer, Marko Röbke and Alfred Kohne are good candidates for a podium spot too. The 4-Wheelers also have a supporting programme in which the riders of the Quads-Clubmen’s, the Quads-C-Class and the kids in the Mini-Quads-Class fight for points and honour.
The increasing number of classes made it necessary for the host (the WMCC) to already start the races at 10:30 a.m.
Henry O’Kennedy vs. Ruhan Gous
Henry O’Kennedy vs. Ruhan Gous
Moto Cross and Quads-races mean tons of excitement for the whole family. Food and beverages are available under the beer-tent from Joker’s Pizzeria and Sports Bar. The award ceremony in the evening will be followed by the very popular Jägermeister-Party, the meeting place for Windhoek’s youth, who will be dancing to the sounds of DJ-Coco.
So come to the Gallina Moto Cross Park for the opening of this year’s season on the 16th of February. The MX-track is situated 15 km outside of Windhoek on the road towards Okahandja.
Author: Bernd Kroemer ... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact