Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
National MX News : Namibian MX Championships
05.05.2008 4th Championships-race in Swakopmund - Results

Rainer Becker wins OBECO Trophy

Pupkewitz-Honda rider Rainer Becker once again won the raceday, but more of that later. The wonderful weather conditions attracted a lot of spectators and motorsport fans to the Coastal Cement Works-race track.
Rainer Becker vs. Ronnie Adams vs. Rudi Brand
Rainer Becker vs. Ronnie Adams vs. Rudi Brand
The races in the Open/125cc Class can be described as the salt in the soup. While the first heat was a kind of procession race, in which Tommy Gous (Zenner Yamaha) lost his lead to Rainer Becker, the second heat proved to be a real MX-thriller: The engines roar, the gate drops, Ronnie Adams on his new Kawasaki grabs the holeshot and there is no holding him. Becker sticks to Ronnie, and behind them there’s Tommy Gous ahead of Brannigan “Animal” Wise. Wise explodes in this heat; first he passes Rudi Brand and in the fifth lap he leaves Gous behind him. One lap later Adams can’t stand the pressure and falls back. Becker now leads ahead of Wise and Gous. In the seventh lap Wise stalls his engine and Tommy Gous assumes the role as pursuer. A lap later Tommy gets past Becker; the spectators are beside themselves with joy. Now Tommy thinks it’s just another half a lap to the finish line... but suddenly the engine has no more power. With a damaged clutch Tommy has to admit defeat. Becker wins ahead of Wise and Adams. On the 4th rank we find the local heroe Rudi Brand, ahead of Jaco Loots on his 125cc Suzuki. What a race!
Jaco Loots
Jaco Loots
During the highlight of the day, the OBECO King of the Dirt, Becker wins the holeshot ahead of Brand, Wise, Adams and Gous. Already during the second lap Wise passes Brand, followed by Tommy Gous. In the seventh lap Tommy spectacularly overjumps his opponents at the Big Table and assumes the lead, which he hangs on to till the finish.
Tommy Gous
Tommy Gous

Results OBECO King of the Dirt:

  1. Tommy Gous, Windhoek, Zenner-Yamaha, 20 points
  2. Rainer Becker, Windhoek, Pupkewitz-Honda, 17
  3. Brannigan Wise, Windhoek, Kawasaki-Namibia, 15
  4. Rudi Brand, Swakopmund, Brand Builders-Honda, 13
  5. Ronnie Adams, Kapps-Farm, Kawasaki-Namibia, 11
  6. Ruhan Gous, Windhoek, Yamaha, 10
  7. Eckhard Hall, Swakopmund, Coastal Racing Honda, 9
  8. Henry o’Kennedy, Windhoek, Muxima B&B-Honda, 8
  9. Jaco Loots, Windhoek, Suzuki-Namibia, 7
  10. Wolfgang Rohe, Windhoek, Kawasaki-Namibia, 6
To sum it up: The day’s victory goes once more to Becker, bad luck continues to haunt Tommy Gous, Ronnie Adams is physically back in great shape again, and Brannigan Wise is the comeback-rider of the day!
Rainer Becker
Rainer Becker
In the 50cc Class we have the obligatory maximum win by Michael Barlow, who put his stamp on all heats. William Smith was left on 2nd place and Jay-Em Tredoux on 3rd.
Tristan Muller from Okahandja in the measure of all things in the 65cc Class. However, since Matthew Nederlof rides a KTM, Muller has to speed it up a bit. Beating Matthew is going to be a real challenge. Joshua Teixeira wins the 3rd podium spot, ahead of Lee-Anne Smith.
The highflyer in the 85cc Class is Mark Sternagel. Three starts – 3 finishes. His mother was very proud indeed. Eric Garbers seems to have overcome his horrific crash in January; a minor mistake in the first heat was followed by two 2nd places in the second heat, which made him overall 2nd. Tristan Muller (he rides in two categories) ranked 3rd after a couple of exciting duels with the local favourite Schalk Louw.
The organiser noticed that the Clubmen’s Class was manned really well at this OBECO racing day. In the first heat Michael Behnke won, ahead of ex-champion Gino Rossi. In the second heat Behnke crashed directly after the start and had to be brought to hospital with two broken fingers and an injured vertebra of the neck. This heat was won by Rossi, ahead of Teixeira. In the last heat, the Angolan won ahead of Rossi. The overall winner thus was Rossi (54 points) ahead of Teixeira (52) and Gundolf Lang from Swakopmund (43). These were exciting races.
Eugene Slippers
Eugene Slippers
The Quads A and B-Classes are extremely popular among the spectators. While Jean Venter on his KTM seems to evolve to a holeshot king, it is Dirkie Baard (Honda) who is the poster boy for this sport. Even in unpromising situations he is able to make up ground; he overtakes where overtaking seems impossible and with this input he wins his races. Apart from Venter, Wolfgang Rohl was also able to convince. He got his Polaris through the first left bent after the start in full throttle. Overall winner was Baard, ahead of Venter and Rohl. Gideon van Sittert surprisingly won the B-Class, ahead of Ecki Spoerer and Eugene Slippers.
E Gogo van Wyk (43) vs Ecki Spoerer (1)
E Gogo van Wyk (43) vs Ecki Spoerer (1)
The Ladies-Quads also compete for national honours. Teenager Cee-Anne Greyling convinced everyone of her talent with three clear wins, against her toughest opponent Mandy Huysamen. Maike Bochert, the overall winner from 2007, gained her strength again and made 3rd place, ahead of Celene Adams.
In the supporting programme there were races in the Quads-Clubmen’s Class. Jaime Reneckle successfully put his opponent Nokkie Maree on 2nd place. 3rd place for André Smidt. In the Mini-Quads Class little Jacques Maree had his first win over Joane Steenkamp. Sune Garbers came in third.
Jean Venter
Jean Venter
An absolutely exciting racing day came to an end. A thank you goes to the organiser Coastal Racing Club, to the officials of the NMSF, to all the helpers, Mrs. Baard for the great racing programme and the good advertisement at the coast. And a big thank you goes to the sponsor OBECO sanitary appliances and tile shop in Swakopmund.
Author: Bernd Kroemer ... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact