Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
National MX News : Namibian MX Championships
21.09.2008 9th Championships-race in Okahandja - Results

Tommy Gous is "King of the Dirt"

First and foremost we want to congratulate the organisers from the Okahandja Moto Cross Club. Everything was perfect; the organisation, the configuration of the track and the major financial input by the Muller family was rewarded with an exciting racing day. The 1st Okahandja MX-Festival of Speed was the major happening of the year for the town. Spectator numbers were a bit low though.
Animal Wise
Animal Wise
Animal Wise on his little Kawaski was the sensation in the Open/125cc Class. He was actually able to shake 2008’s figurehead, Tommy Gous. Immediately after the start of the first heat, Tommy assumed the lead, followed by Rudi Brand from Swakopmund. Tommy extended the lead to aprox. 250m when finallyAnimal Wise could pass Brand. Now an exciting pursuit race followed and Wise grabbed the lead towards the end of the race. Behind him, Alexander Howard grappled with Rudi Brand and Ronnie Adams, and Alexander’s achievement must be highlighted in view of his 1-year convalescence. Behind the leading five, the famous group of three Ruhand Gous, Henry O’Kennedy and Eckhard Hall fought it out amongst each other once more.
In the second heat Rudi Brand once again displayed his holeshot abilities but Gous caught up with him pretty quickly. It was a similar situation to the first heat, again Wise had to “bulldoze” himself through the pack before he was free to pursuit Gous. And I have to say it: Wise rose above himself passed Gous and could claim victory for the second time that day.
So the odds were in favour of Wise, when it came to the highlight of the day, the all-deciding King of the Dirt. The gate drops, Brand is in the lead, heavily pursued by Wise and Gous. Wise crashes in the first bent and in consequence Gous crashes as well but gets back on his bike faster and chases after Brand. At half-time Gous unnecessarily bites the dirt again, Wise passes and clings himself to Brand who is still leading. Then in the 9th lap it’s all over for Wise: a faulty front-wheel brake ends his dream! A real shame!
Tommy Gous
Tommy Gous
Now Gous pushes past Brand and assumes the lead, a position which he doesn’t let go of till he reaches the finish line. Behind the leading duo Gous and Brand, there were exciting ding-dong battles between Alexander Howard, Jaco Loots and Ronnie Adams. Jaco Loots probably had the best race of his young career. After putting pressure and some harsh handlebar bangings on his uncle Ronnie Adams for several laps, Adams gave way, and was even passed by Alexander Howard. This race will be be discussed for days in Okahandja!

Results King of the Dirt:

  1. Tommy Gous, Windhoek, Novel-Zenner-Yamaha, 20 points
  2. Rudi Brand, Swakopmund, Brand-Construction Honda, 17
  3. Jaco Loots, Windhoek, Winners-Suzuki-Namibia, 15
  4. Alexander Howard, Windhoek, Seasonaire-Yamaha, 13
  5. Ronnie Adams, Kapps-Farm, Suzuki-Namibia, 11
  6. Henry o’Kennedy, Windhoek, Tomar-Construction-Honda, 10
  7. Eckhard Hall, Swakopmund, Coastal Racing-Honda, 9
  8. Ruhan Gous, Windhoek, City Treff-Honda, 8
  9. Tony Viljoen, Windhoek, Joker’s Pizzeria-Honda, 7
  10. Mark Sternagel, Windhoek, Sternbau-Honda, 6
The kids in the 65cc Class demonstrated excellent sport as well. Tristan Muller, as local heroe enjoyed the support of the spectators and won with a maximum number of points. The predicted spurt of achievement shown by his toughest opponent Matthew Nederlof was no empty promise. Matthew held the lead for several laps in the second heat, before a crash threw him back. He will have to make due with 2nd place in the Namibian Championship this year. Joshua Teixeira from Angola had to fight it out with little Michael Barlow, who had to climb up from the 50cc Class due to a lack of competitors.
In the quick 85cc Class Mark Sternagel achieved another maximum victory. He rides in “Red” (Honda) now. Tristan Muller, who rides in two categories, landed on his usual 2nd place, ahead of Schalk Louw from Swakopmund. Behind them Eric Garbers, Joschua Teixeira and Wico Coetzee battled for position.
The Clubmen’s Class was very well manned this time. Jose Teixeira had a tough time with ex-champ Gino Rossi from Swakopmund. These two had some tough fighting going, with Portuguese swear-words raining down on Rossi, who ultimately had to make due with 2nd place. Torsten Schidlowski had some impressive starts but fell back due to not being in peak physical condition. Frank Steyn won 3rd place on the rostrum, ahead of Kirsten Spangenberg and Wiehan Kohne. These were exciting races on all positions.
Dirkie Baard
Dirkie Baard
What would an MX-event be without the howling of the powerfull Quads? As always, the Quad-A Class, which participated together with the Quad-B-Class, offered exciting racing. Jean Venter evolved to a Holeshot-King, but had to hand over the lead to the man from Walvisbay, Dirkie Baard. Dirkie is a class of its own. On 3rd place we find another coastal boy, namely Michael Behnke, who had a strong appearance in the King of the Quads and was able to beat Venter. Stephan Smidt won the B-Class, ahead of Ecki Spoerer and Eugene Slippers.
André Maree
André Maree
In the Quads-C-Class André Maree lived up to expectations and won with a maximum number of points ahead of Jaycee le Roux and Anita Miljo. Dinali Farmer –our newcomer girl– barely missed the podium and ranked 4th.
The Quads-Ladies-Class was strong in Okahandja. Cee-Anne Greyling came to the race with a barely cured flu and had to let Mandy Huysamen win in the first two heats. In the third heat, Mandy only finished 4th, which ultimately brought “Fräulein” Greyling on first place. Charney Joubert had her breakthrough, she ranked 3rd on the podium ahead of Maike Bochert and Anneke Steenkamp.
Celene Adams leading the pack
Celene Adams leading the pack
The Quads-Clubmen’s Class lies firmly in the hands of André Basson who won with a maximum number of points ahead of Leigh-Jean Skoppelitus and Louw Greyvenstein.
After the prizegiving the Jägermeister-Party with DJ Coco was held for the first time in Okahandja… it must have been a long night. A thank you goes to the Okahandja Moto Cross Club, to the Muller family and their team, and a heartfelt Thanks goes to the many sponsors in Okahandja.
Author: Bernd Kroemer ... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact