Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
National MX News : Namibian MX Championships
02.03.2009 1st WESBANK Motocross Challenge in Windhoek (NAM) - Results

Bierbrauer wins Wesbank-Trophy

It was a racing day the (few) spectators enjoyed. Unfortunately the upcoming Rugby tournament must have kept a lot of people from coming to Gallina. Honda was the brand with the most wins. A pleasant surprise was that Jose Teixeira brought four MX-riders with him from Angola.
Team from Angola: Tadi Madaleno, Narciso Jose, Rui Kusse, Ze Comando, Jandir Talaia (f.l.t.r.)
Team from Angola: Tadi Madaleno, Narciso Jose, Rui Kusse, Ze Comando, Jandir Talaia (f.l.t.r.)
As announced, the youngsters in the MX 2 Class were the measure of all things, especially Björn Bierbrauer. While his racing style was a bit gruff in the first heat, he improved during each following race and in the “Wesbank King of the Dirt” his riding was totally relaxed, he maneuvered his bike smoothly across the track and won this race with a big advance ahead of the present champion in the Open-Class, Tommy Gous. Animal Wise also knew how to please: two 2nd places, behind Bierbrauer with whom he fought out some tough duels, prove his talent. A highlight was the second heat of the combined MX1/MX2 Class. The gate falls and Bierbrauer, Wise and Alexander Howard assume the lead. Gous finds himself on 5th place after a bad start. Wise attempts attack after attack but ultimately has to accept Bierbrauer’s superiority. Now we can witness that Bierbrauer received some excellent training during his three years in Germany, where he also rode for the Kölling-Team in Cottbus. Gous got stuck behind Jaco Loots, who defends his position for 5 laps but then has to give in to the strong 450cc Yamaha. Gous dashes past him. In the next lap he leaves Howard behind and stays put behind the Honda-riders Bierbrauer and Wise. They in turn use their advance to cross the finish line.
Björn Bierbrauer
Björn Bierbrauer
A highlight as ever is the “Wesbank King of the Dirt” which lasts for 20 long minutes. An obvious sign of the riders tension is the way they play with their clutches. The gate drops and Bierbrauer grabs the holeshot, ahead of Wise and Gous. While Bierbrauer is up and away, we can witness an exciting tussle between Wise and Gous. Then Wise drops out of the race due to engine problems in the fourth lap and Gous pursues Bierbrauer who is in the lead. Alexander Howard suffers a major crash at the jump behind the Honda-tower, when his own bike hits him in the back. He was carried off the track. At half-time the Angolans Narciso Jose and Roberto Tolain have to quit the race due to exhaustion. They aren’t used to the speed nor used to the length of the heats. Close to the end of the race Ronnie Adams on his Kawasaki is able to pass KTM-rider Frank Klosta. Someone who knew how to please was little Jaco Loots, who finished in an excellent 5th place on the only two-stroke Suzuki.
Tony Viljoen vs. Ruhan Gous and Roberto Tolain
Tony Viljoen vs. Ruhan Gous and Roberto Tolain

Results Wesbank King of the Dirt:

  1. Björn Bierbrauer, Windhoek, Honda Muxima Racing, 25 points
  2. Tommy Gous, Windhoek, Novel Yamaha Zenner Racing, 22
  3. Ronnie Adams, Windhoek, Kawasaki Namibia, 20
  4. Frank Klosta, Swakopmund, Bikes 4 Fun-KTM, 19
  5. Jaco Loots, Windhoek, Suzuki Namibia, 18
  6. Henry o’Kennedy, Windhoek, Honda Muxima Racing, 17
  7. Ruhan Gous, Windhoek, Honda Muxima Racing, 16
  8. Rudi Brand, Swakopmund, Honda Coastal Racing, 15
  9. Jose Teixeira, Windhoek, Honda Muxima Racing, 14
  10. Tony Viljoen, Windhoek, Joker’s Pizzeria-Honda, 13
Matthew Nederlof won the scholar’s Class MX 65 in which he displayed a brilliant performance especially in the second heat. After initial starting problems he had to chase after his contestants who were already 300m further. He caught up with every single one of them and achieved victory with a maximum number of points, ahead of Michael Barlow and Jay-Em Tredoux.
Mark Sternagel took part with two broken toes which handicapped him enormously. Despite it, he won the MX-Lights Class (former 85cc Class) with ahead of Tristan Muller from Okahandja. Pauli Loots finished on his usual 3rd place.
The races in the various Quads-Classes were extremely exciting. In the Quads-A-Class the expected winner was Michael Behnke, ahead of Fanie Steenkamp and Jean Venter. Jean Skoppelitus won the Quads-B-Class ahead of Eugene Slippers and Louw Greyvenstein. The newly established “King of the Quads” race was won by Honda-rider Michael Behnke after exciting duels, ahead of Wolfgang Rohl on his Polaris, and the man on third place, Jean Venter on a KTM. This race was without any doubt the icing on the cake of the quads-category.
Mandy Huysamen
Mandy Huysamen
In the Quads-Ladies-Class Mandy Huysamen won with a maximum number of points and left Charney Joubert and Maike Bochert on 2nd and 3rd respectively. Gerhard Henning won the “Quads-Clubmen’s Class, ahead of Greg Dickmann and Jaco Snyman. The Quads-C-Class was also newly established, for kids up to 13 years. Here it was André Maree wo won ahead of Jaycee Le Roux and Pierre Cronje.
Melody Loots
Melody Loots
After the prize-giving the Jägermeister Party continued the entertainment on this exciting racing day. A thank you goes to the sponsor Wesbank and to all officials and helpers.
Author: Bernd Kroemer ... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact