Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
15.07.2006 Grand Prix of South Africa in Sun City (RSA) - Qualifying
Holiday time is finished and today all riders got to grips with the recently modified circuit of Sun City.
It was quite an ordinary day for Stefan Everts (BEL, Yamaha) who made to clock another pole position. His 1.50.400 laptime was 81 thousandths faster than countryman Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), with who he had a hard battle during the second moto in Sweden.
Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki) in Sun City (RSA)
 Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki) in Sun City (RSA)
Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Steve Ramon lost it but tomorrow he will try again, like Joshua Coppins (NZL, Honda) who will start from third place on the grid. The New Zealander just signed a contract for Yamaha but such an early and important signature is out of the window at the moment and Josh’s goal is being a Honda winner as many times as he can.
There will not be only Stefan Everts and Steve Ramon on his way to the win, also Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki) is a tough challenger and today he lapped 7 tenth slower than the Honda rider and made to get a fourth place for tomorrow’s grid. Fifth fastest was Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), who is going to stay other two years with KTM after having signed his contract last week.
The session actually started with the pace of about 1.54 then times were slimmed by the hands of Coppins, Ramon and finally Everts who grasped the pole during his last try. On the other hand Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), third in the Championship, made a mistake and completely missed his last chance.
"At the beginning I could not find the right lines but every time I was going out there I was getting better" commented Everts. "In the chase for the pole I was really close to Steve; it is hard to say who will be my hardest challenger tomorrow because today it was only time practice. We will know it during the race: last week Barragan was very strong but in the second race he was not there; Josh has been very consistent and is improving race by race; Steve was also on the gas last week…we will see, anything is possible."
In MX2 race winners were Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha) and home rider Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM).
In the first race Alessio Chiodi (ITA, Yamaha) got the holeshot and was followed by Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki) and Tyla Rattray right after the start. But the South African passed Searle in the first lap and started to get closer to Chiodi; the battle ended in the second lap, with Rattray passing the Italian, grasping the lead and bringing it home. Championship leader Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki) had a good start but took the external line in the first corner: he lost some ground and it took him ten minutes to get back to his rhythm. At the end he managed to arrive to Searle’s tail, in third place. Tommy Searle was second behind Rattray while countryman Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Yamaha) did fourth. At the end Chiodi ended the race in fifth place, ahead of Italian Manuel Monni (ITA, KTM).
The second qualifying race was dominated by current World Champion Antonio Cairoli, getting the holeshot and starting to open up a gap right from the first lap. Marc de Reuver (NED, KTM) made to get second place after passing Carl Nunn (GBR, KTM) in the first lap and Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki) in the fourth lap. Last year’s winner David Philippaerts (ITA, KTM) was third after having ended the first lap in sixth place; the top five ended with Garreth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki) and Nunn, fourth and fifth.
"In the second lap I decided it is time to pass Chicco because when you sit behind him for a few laps it gets very difficult to pass" said Rattray. "Once I passed him I put together some good laps and I won the race pretty easily but tomorrow is a different day. At the moment I feel fit and strong despite my ankle is not 100%; hopefully my bad luck stopped now and I can start coming back and winning some races, hopefully getting in the Championship hunt again."

MX1 - Time Practice - Classification:

  1. Everts, Stefan (BEL, Yamaha) - 1:50.400
  2. Ramon, Steve (BEL, Suzuki) - 1:50.481
  3. Coppins, Joshua (NZL, Honda) - 1:51.103
  4. Strijbos, Kevin (BEL, Suzuki) - 1:51.874
  5. Barragan, Jonathan (ESP, KTM) - 1:51.898
  6. de Dycker, Ken (BEL, Honda) - 1:52.038
  7. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN, TM) - 1:53.222
  8. Crockard, Gordon (IRL, Honda) - 1:53.881
  9. Bill, Julien (SUI, Yamaha) - 1:53.884
  10. Melotte, Cedric (BEL, Yamaha) - 1:53.916
  11. Garcia Vico, Francisco (ESP, Honda) - 1:53.933
  12. Leok, Tanel (EST, Kawasaki) - 1:54.107
  13. Leuret, Pascal (FRA, Honda) - 1:54.228
  14. Noble, James (GBR, Honda) - 1:54.545
  15. Avis, Wyatt (RSA, KTM) - 1:54.675
  16. Priem, Manuel (BEL, Yamaha) - 1:54.997
  17. Dugmore, Collin (RSA, Kawasaki) - 1:57.584
  18. van der Westhuizen, Richard (RSA, Honda) - 1:59.841
  19. Stegen, Karl (RSA, Suzuki) - 2:00.904
  20. O'Farrel, Liam (RSA, Yamaha) - 2:01.081
  21. Bowen, Kyle (RSA, KTM) - 2:08.479
  22. van Niekerk, Carl (RSA, TM) - 2:11.091
  23. Keramidas, Dimitris (GRE, Honda) - 2:14.942
  24. Reeve, David (GBR, Honda) - 2:16.351
  25. Nielsen, Anthony (KEN, Yamaha) - 2:16.518
  26. Adams, Ronnie (NAM, Suzuki) - 2:17.623
  27. Gous, Tommy (NAM, Yamaha) - 2:19.016

MX2 - Qualifying Race 1 - Classification:

  1. Rattray, Tyla (RSA, KTM)
  2. Searle, Tommy (GBR, Kawasaki)
  3. Pourcel, Christophe (FRA, Kawasaki)
  4. Mackenzie, Billy (GBR, Yamaha)
  5. Chiodi, Alessio (ITA, Yamaha)
  6. Monni, Manuel (ITA, KTM)
  7. Guarneri, Davide (ITA, Yamaha)
  8. Goncalves, Rui (POR, KTM)
  9. Church, Tom (GBR, Kawasaki)
  10. Fitzgerald, Kerim (RSA, Yamaha)
  11. Naude, Sacha (RSA, Yamaha)
  12. Fourie, Freddie (RSA, KTM)
  13. Kruger, Shaun (RSA, KTM)
  14. de Bruin, Johannes (RSA, Yamaha)
  15. Lazarus, Louis (RSA, KTM)
  16. Mitchel, Sean (ZIM, KTM)
  17. Lionnet, Warren (ZAM, Honda)
  18. Smith, Doungu (KEN, Yamaha)
  19. Scribante, Adam (RSA, Honda)

MX2 - Qualifying Race 2 - Classification:

  1. Cairoli, Antonio (ITA, Yamaha)
  2. de Reuver, Marc (NED, KTM)
  3. Philippaerts, David (ITA, KTM)
  4. Swanepoel, Garreth (RSA, Kawasaki)
  5. Nunn, Carl (GBR, KTM)
  6. Pourcel, Sebastien (FRA, Kawasaki)
  7. Gundersen, Kenneth (NOR, Yamaha)
  8. Kok, Michael (RSA, Suzuki)
  9. Branch, Ross (RSA, Kawasaki)
  10. Fitzgerald, Darryl (RSA, Yamaha)
  11. Ford, Shaun (RSA, Yamaha)
  12. Picoto, Victor (RSA, Yamaha)
  13. Vercueil, Lloyd (RSA, Yamaha)
  14. Wheeler, Brandon (RSA, KTM)
  15. Lionnet, Graham (ZAM, Honda)
  16. Mitchel, Sacha (ZIM, KTM)
  17. Wise, Brannigan (NAM, KTM)
  18. Dougan, Jason (GBR, Honda)

MX2 - Last Chance Qualifying Practice - Classification:

  1. Dougan, Jason (GBR, Honda) - 1:59.377
  2. Vercueil, Lloyd (RSA, Yamaha) - 2:03.158
  3. Wheeler, Brandon (RSA, KTM) - 2:03.818
  4. de Bruin, Johannes (RSA, Yamaha) - 2:04.202
  5. Kruger, Shaun (RSA, KTM) - 2:04.672
  6. Scribante, Adam (RSA, Honda) - 2:06.279
  7. Lazarus, Louis (RSA, KTM) - 2:09.578
  8. Mitchel, Sacha (ZIM, KTM) - 2:11.298
  9. Wise, Brannigan (NAM, KTM) - 2:16.218
  10. Mitchel, Sean (ZIM, KTM) - 2:17.877
  11. Lionnet, Graham (ZAM, Honda) - 2:19.641
  12. Lionnet, Warren (ZAM, Honda) - 2:20.587
  13. Smith, Doungu (KEN, Yamaha) - 2:24.012
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact