Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
24.09.2006 FIM FOX Motocross of Nations 2006 - Qualifying
The first day of the 2006 FOX Motocross of Nations was packed both with crowd and Motocross action and finished with a "coup de scene" in the Press Room.
James Stewart (USA), Ryan Villopoto (USA) and Steve Ramon (BEL) won the 3 Qualifying Motos but the final thrill was by Stefan Everts (BEL), suddenly appearing in the KTM press conference. The Belgian Motocross Legend was introduced by Pit Beirer, Stefan Pierer and Heinz Kinigadner as the new Race Director for Motocross Activities of the Austrian factory. The many people wondering what were KTM’s plans for the future and what was Everts’s future in Motocross had finally one shocking single answer for both questions.
10 times Motocross World Champion Stefan Everts’ goal for 2007 will be supporting the KTM riders in any aspect of their training and racing activities; moreover Stefan will represent the factory in the race venues. It will be another busy season for him but the head of Team Belgium is now 100% focused on the final challenge of his career.
In the MX1 Qualifying Moto Everts and Stewart fought a bit at the start. Once the American grasped the lead he showed an impressive rhythm and brought first place home without any challengers on his way. Behind his shoulders there were Everts and Pourcel (FRA) challenging each other for second; the Frenchman passed Stefan at the second lap but Everts passed him again and finished with second. Pourcel broke his front wheel and managed to bring the bike home with eighth; third place was grasped by home rider Billy Mackenzie (GBR) and Kiwi Joshua Coppins (NZL) was right behind him in fourth. The top five was completed by Estonian Tanel Leok (EST).
Second Qualifying Moto was for the MX2 class. American Ryan Villopoto won from Christophe Pourcel (FRA), second at the chequered flag. After lapping close to each other in the first laps, the duo split once Villopoto got into his rhythm. There was much more “confusion” behind with a challenge between 3 different continents representatives: Rattray (RSA), Cairoli (ITA) and Townley (NZL). The first move was by Townley. The New Zealander passed Cairoli and put Rattray in his sights; once the South African made a mistake Ben passed in third place. Also Cairoli made to pass Rattray and ran after “BT” until he made to pass in the tenth lap. After the Italian secured third place, Townley finished fourth ahead of Rattray.
Warming up with the first 2 Qualifiers, the massive crowd got thrilled by the third and most exciting Qualifying Heat of the day. In the Open class South African Wyatt Avis (RSA) stormed out of the gates with a hungry Suzuki duo behind his shoulders: Ramon and Tedesco. With Avis and Tedesco swapping their places, it was Ramon the one who finally snatched first place. Avis made a mistake and almost fell off the bike when he was second; Tedesco got his chance to pass and so he did, but Ramon managed the gap and arrived first to the chequered flag. With Tedesco second and Avis third, Yves “Tefli” Demaria (FRA) finished with fourth and Finnish Jussi Vehvilainen (FIN) was fifth.

Qualifying Race MX1 Classification:

  1. Stewart, James (USA, Kawasaki)
  2. Everts, Stefan (BEL, Yamaha)
  3. Mackenzie, Billy (GBR, Yamaha)
  4. Coppins, Joshua (NZL, Honda)
  5. Leok, Tanel (EST, Kawasaki)
  6. Nagl, Maximilian (GER, KTM)
  7. Philippaerts, David (ITA, KTM)
  8. Pourcel, Sebastien (FRA, Kawasaki)
  9. Barragan, Jonathan (ESP, KTM)
  10. de Reuver, Marc (NED, KTM)
  11. Nemeth, Kornel (HUN, Suzuki)
  12. Bradshaw, Neville (RSA, Suzuki)
  13. Jorgensen, Brian (DEN, Honda)
  14. Narita, Akira (JPN, Yamaha)
  15. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN, TM)
  16. Zaremba, Jan (CZE, KTM)
  17. Moze, Jaka (SLO, Honda)
  18. Goncalves, Paulo (POR, Honda)
  19. Freibergs, Lauris (LAT, Suzuki)
  20. Staufer, Michael (AUT, KTM)
  21. Facciotto, Colton (CAN, Kawasaki)
  22. Bill, Julien (SUI, Yamaha)
  23. Tonkov, Vitali (RUS, Yamaha)
  24. Lindhe, Jonny (SWE, KTM)
  25. Bakke, Ronny (NOR, Honda)
  26. Reardon, Daniel (AUS, Kawasaki)
  27. Bucenec, Tomas (SVK, KTM)
  28. Kouzis, Panagiotis (GRE, Yamaha)
  29. Matusic, Sasa (CRO, Yamaha)
  30. Su, Wen Min (CHN, Honda)
  31. Crockard, Gordon (IRL, Honda)

Qualifying Race MX2 Classification:

  1. Villopoto, Ryan (USA, Kawasaki)
  2. Pourcel, Christophe (FRA, Kawasaki)
  3. Cairoli, Antonio (ITA, Yamaha)
  4. Townley, Ben (NZL, Kawasaki)
  5. Rattray, Tyla (RSA, KTM)
  6. Strijbos, Kevin (BEL, Suzuki)
  7. Searle, Tommy (GBR, Kawasaki)
  8. Metcalfe, Brett (AUS, Yamaha)
  9. Goncalves, Rui (POR, KTM)
  10. Campano, Carlos (ESP, KTM)
  11. Gundersen, Kenneth (NOR, Yamaha)
  12. Leok, Aigar (EST, Yamaha)
  13. Seistola, Matti (FIN, Honda)
  14. Kohut, Martin (SVK, Honda)
  15. Kojima, Youhei (JPN, Suzuki)
  16. Carlsson, Jonas (SWE, Yamaha)
  17. Bobryshev, Evgeny (RUS, KTM)
  18. Neugebauer, Filip (CZE, Kawasaki)
  19. Irt, Matevz (SLO, Yamaha)
  20. Ringhofer, Philipp (AUT, KTM)
  21. Larsen, Nikolaj (DEN, KTM)
  22. Chittaro, Manuel (GER, Kawasaki)
  23. Steinbergs, Ivo (LAT, Yamaha)
  24. Panagiotopoulos, Mihalis (GRE, KTM)
  25. Hujber, Peter (HUN, Honda)
  26. Lovakovic, Mirko (CRO, Yamaha)
  27. Strik, George (NED, KTM)
  28. Dube, Marco (CAN, KTM)
  29. Shi, Ie (CHN, Honda)
  30. Walther, Patrick (SUI, Yamaha)

Qualifying Race Open Classification:

  1. Ramon, Steve (BEL, Suzuki)
  2. Tedesco, Ivan (USA, Suzuki)
  3. Avis, Wyatt (RSA, KTM)
  4. Demaria, Yves (FRA, KTM)
  5. Vehvilainen, Jussi (FIN, Suzuki)
  6. Morgan, Blair (CAN, Honda)
  7. Nunn, Carl (GBR, KTM)
  8. Ristori, Marc (SUI, Honda)
  9. Beggi, Cristian (ITA, Honda)
  10. Cooper, Cody (NZL, Honda)
  11. Atsuta, Yoshitaka (JPN, Honda)
  12. Boyd, Cheyne (AUS, Yamaha)
  13. Zerava, Martin (CZE, Honda)
  14. Lozano, Alvaro (ESP, KTM)
  15. Kulhavy, Josef (SVK, Honda)
  16. Ivanyutin, Alexandre (RUS, Yamaha)
  17. Aulisether, Frederik (NOR, Suzuki)
  18. Nilsson, Mats (SWE, Yamaha)
  19. Jensen, Bo Vang (DEN, KTM)
  20. Mauser, Markus (AUT, KTM)
  21. Schröter, Dennis (GER, Suzuki)
  22. Verhoeven, Bas (NED, Kawasaki)
  23. Venda, Henrique (POR, Kawasaki)
  24. Czuni, Laszlo (HUN, Honda)
  25. Fotopoulos, Christos (GRE, Kawasaki)
  26. McCullough, Philip (IRL, KTM)
  27. Yao, Yao (CHN, Honda)
  28. Kragelj, Saso (SLO, Yamaha)
  29. Bobkovs, Aigars (LAT, Honda)
  30. Laansoo, Juss (EST, Honda)

Nations Qualification:

  1. USA, 2 points
  2. Belgium, 3  
  3. France, 6  
  4. New Zealand, 8  
  5. Republic of South Africa, 8  
  6. Great Britain, 10  
  7. Italy, 10  
  8. Estonia, 17  
  9. Finland, 18  
  10. Spain, 19  
  11. Australia, 20  
  12. Japan, 25  
  13. Germany, 27  
  14. Portugal, 27  
  15. Canada, 27  
  16. Norway, 28  
  17. Czech Republic, 29  
  18. Slovakia, 29  
  19. Switzerland, 30  
  20. Denmark, 32  
  21. Netherlands, 32  
  22. Russia, 33  
  23. Sweden, 34  
  24. Hungary, 35  
  25. Slovenia, 36  
  26. Austria, 40  
  27. Latvia, 42  
  28. Greece, 49  
  29. Croatia, 55  
  30. China, 56  
  31. Irland, 57
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact