Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
27.04.2008 Grand Prix of Portugal in Águeda (POR) - Qualifying

Rattray-Cairoli wrestle set for Portuguese GP

It was a great opening day in Agueda, the host of the third Grand Prix of 2008 which welcomed the Motocross collective with very hot weather conditions. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki) clocked a stunning pole position in the MX1 class, collecting his second consecutive Lovemytime Pole Position Award after his first pole of 2008 in Spain last weekend.
Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM) is also on a season high, winning his third consecutive qualifying heat and bringing home the Lovemytime Qualifying Award together with his closest rival in the Championship, Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), who won the qualifying moto one to get his first win of 2008.


Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Dominating all the two free practice sessions and eventually the time practice, Lovemytime Pole Position Award winner Sebastien Pourcel of GPKR completed a stunning opening day of this Portuguese Grand Prix. Clocking his fastest lap with two minutes to go, no one else could reply to Pourcel or go under the 1:48 barrier.
CAS Honda’s Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda) finished a solid second, after holding the top spot for a part of the session. Mac211 collected his best qualifying result since the start to the season, which the Brit will race onboard the factory Honda machinery.

Kawasaki Racing’s Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki) was a last minute surprise when he stormed up to the third place at his very last attempt. The Estonian pushed it to the limit to move in front of fourth placed and defending MX1 World Champion Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki). The Belgian was the best placed Teka Suzuki WMX1 rider, as team mate and current series leader Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki) ended eighth, with Ramon thinking of closing the current seven point gap tomorrow. De Dycker actually rode injured with a blister on his right hand.
Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Early leader Martin Honda’s Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda) rounded off the top five ahead of Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM) and Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha). David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha) - on last year’s Portuguese podium - ended ninth fastest but was not 100%; his back was bruised after a free practice crash.

MX1 - Time Practice Classification:

  1. Pourcel, Sebastien (FRA, Kawasaki), 1:47.643
  2. Mackenzie, Billy (GBR, Honda), 1:48.133
  3. Leok, Tanel (EST, Kawasaki), 1:48.387
  4. Ramon, Steve (BEL, Suzuki), 1:48.699
  5. de Reuver, Marc (NED, Honda), 1:48.843
  6. Barragan, Jonathan (ESP, KTM), 1:48.885
  7. Coppins, Joshua (NZL, Yamaha), 1:48.922
  8. de Dycker, Ken (BEL, Suzuki), 1:49.025
  9. Philippaerts, David (ITA, Yamaha), 1:49.057
  10. Priem, Manuel (BEL, Kawasaki), 1:49.397
  11. Schiffer, Marcus (GER, KTM), 1:49.559
  12. Nemeth, Kornel (HUN, KTM), 1:50.165
  13. Desalle, Clement (BEL, Suzuki), 1:50.190
  14. Nagl, Maximilian (GER, KTM), 1:50.503
  15. Salvini, Alex (ITA, Suzuki), 1:50.505
  16. Goncalves, Paulo (POR, Honda), 1:50.513
  17. Noble, James (GBR, KTM), 1:50.531
  18. Brown, Mike (USA, Honda), 1:50.680
  19. Renet, Pierre A. (FRA, Suzuki), 1:51.037
  20. Bill, Julien (SUI, Honda), 1:51.301
  21. Leok, Aigar (EST, Yamaha), 1:51.340
  22. Correira, Luis (POR, Yamaha), 1:51.450
  23. Siegl, Daniel (GER, Suzuki), 1:51.559
  24. Verhoeven, Bas (NED, Kawasaki), 1:51.957
  25. Melotte, Cedric (BEL, Aprilia), 1:52.056
  26. van Daele, Marvin (BEL, Suzuki), 1:52.057
  27. Chiodi, Alessio (ITA, TM), 1:52.112
  28. Freibergs, Lauris (LAT, Yamaha), 1:52.368
  29. Campano, Carlos (ESP, Yamaha), 1:52.413
  30. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN, Suzuki), 1:52.556


The two qualifying heats of the MX2 class were won by the first two riders in the points standings, runner up Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Antonio Cairoli (heat one) and leader Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tyla Rattray (heat two), with dominant performances. Other Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM) was a solid second to Cairoli, with Champ KTM’s Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM) ending runner up to Rattray. Eventually Cairoli and Rattray brought home the Lovemytime Qualifying Awards of today, consisting in the iPod with the matching Lovemytime portable loudspeakers.

MX2 Qualifying Race 1

Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Winner of last year’s Portuguese GP, Cairoli took a superb start to head the pack into the first corner; the Italian never looked back until he passed by the chequered flag in first place at the end of the 13 lap moto. A solid Searle took a good start as well but did not push to try and catch the flying Italian, ending a positive second. KTM fellow rider Shaun Simpson was cruising in third when he crashed and handed the position to Nicolas Aubin. The latter kept the third place ahead of fourth placed Stephen Sword. Manuel Monni rounded off the top five ahead of home rider Rui Goncalves with Simpson eventually finishing tenth.

MX2 - Qualifying Race 1 Classification:

  1. Cairoli, Antonio (ITA, Yamaha)
  2. Searle, Tommy (GBR, KTM)
  3. Aubin, Nicolas (FRA, Yamaha)
  4. Sword, Stephen (GBR, Kawasaki)
  5. Monni, Manuel (ITA, Yamaha)
  6. Goncalves, Rui (POR, KTM)
  7. Nunn, Carl (GBR, Suzuki)
  8. Eggens, Erik (NED, Suzuki)
  9. Boissiere, Anthony (FRA, KTM)
  10. Simpson, Shaun (GBR, KTM)
  11. Banks-Browne, Elliot (GBR, Suzuki)
  12. Avis, Wyatt (RSA, Honda)

MX2 Qualifying Race 2

Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM) / Photo by: Massimo Zanzani
Rattray took victory in the second qualifying heat courtesy of an impressive performance, which ended with the South African crossing the finish line 20 seconds before second placed Jeremy van Horebeek. The likeable Belgian held the runner up spot defending himself from a very hungry Gautier Paulin. Later on the 2007 European Champion was passed by Davide Guarneri and Xavier Boog, rounding off the top five behind the duo.

MX2 - Qualifying Race 2 Classification:

  1. Rattray, Tyla (RSA, KTM)
  2. van Horebeek, Jeremy (BEL, KTM)
  3. Guarneri, Davide (ITA, Yamaha)
  4. Boog, Xavier (FRA, Suzuki)
  5. Paulin, Gautier (FRA, Kawasaki)
  6. Tarroux, Jeremy (FRA, KTM)
  7. Musquin, Marvin (FRA, Honda)
  8. Frossard, Steven (FRA, Kawasaki)
  9. Lupino, Alessandro (ITA, Yamaha)
  10. Philippaerts, Deny (ITA, Yamaha)
  11. Terreblanche, Shannon (RSA, Suzuki)
  12. Roelants, Joel (BEL, KTM)

MX2 - Last Chance Qualifying Practice Classification:

  1. Krestinov, Gert (EST, KTM), 1:51.963
  2. Aranda, Gregory (FRA, Kawasaki), 1:52.107
  3. Vongsana, Khounsith (FRA, Kawasaki), 1:52.935
  4. van Vijfeijken, Rob (NED, Yamaha), 1:53.344
  5. Vanni, Julien (FRA, KTM), 1:53.440
  6. Dierckx, Dennis (BEL, Honda), 1:53.551
Source: Press release Youthstream
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact