Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
25.08.2008 MX3 World Championship in Randers (DEN) - Results

Breugelmans came a step closer to the World Champion Title

Belgian rider Sven Breugelmans (KTM) got the second following victory in the MX3 World Championship last weekend in Denmark and it brought him one step closer to the World Championship title.
Sven Breugelmans (BEL, KTM) / Photo by: YOuthstream
Sven Breugelmans (BEL, KTM) / Photo by: YOuthstream
The organizer from Randers got the award for the best MX3 organizer in the year 2007. This year the organization was good, again. The weather was cloudy and luckily it hold out till the end. After the some bad results Breugelmans is back on the top. He has started his predominance at the previous event in Finland, where he was much more stronger and faster than others. Because there is the sandy race track in Denmark, everyone has already expected that Breugelmans can be fast. With the two good starts and also because his rivals Cristian Beggi (Honda) and Christophe Martin (Husqvarna) did not get very good results, he escaped them for 21 points.
In the first race Breugelmans and Alvaro Lozano (KTM) took the lead. They were leading and won the first race. For some laps Lozano even came in front. Breugelmans did not let that his team colleague would be better. He passed Lozano again and won. Finnish rider Antty Pyrhonen (Honda) got the first MX3 podium in Finland. There he said that he wish to continue with top results and he really did. In the first race he finished third. Beggi did not have the good start. In continuation he progressed and he was fourth. The third best MX3 rider Christophe Martin also did not have the successful start and then in the first lap he crashed. At the end he got some points for the 12th position. The best home rider was Bo Vang (Suzuki) on the sixth position.
The second race was cancelled after the first corner. Some starting gates got stuck and many riders could not begin the race. The start was repeated. Breugelmans said:
"It was good that they repeated the second start when something went wrong with the starting gates, because many good riders got stuck."
Breugelmans and Lozano were invincible. Their fight looked similar than in the first race. Breugelmans won in front of Lozano, William Saris from Netherlands started very fast and Christophe Martin needed some laps to overtook him and came on the third position. Antty Pyrhonen finished fifth. Beggi had another bad start, then his bike has switched off during the race and he finished on the eight position.
Podium MX3 / Photo by: Youthstream
Podium MX3 / Photo by: Youthstream
Breugelmans won the race, Lozano was second and Pyrhonen got his second podium with the third place. Fourth was William Saris, Beggi was fifth and Martin sixth. Nicolai Maercher Hansen (Yamaha) was the best Danish rider with the seventh position. In the MX3 Championship Classification Breugelmans is leading with 21 points of advantage in front of Beggi. Martin is on the third position, 21 points behind the second rider Beggi. Although the differences between top three riders are bigger than before, there is still nothing final. The last two races will be important for all three riders. The conditions will be different as here in Denmark. Maybe already on 7th September in Roggenburg, Switzerland there will be more clear who can be the new MX3 World Champion.

Event Results Class MX3, Randers:

  1. Breugelmans, Sven (BEL, KTM) 25 / 25 / 50 points
  2. Lozano, Alvaro (ESP, KTM) 22 / 22 / 44
  3. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN, Suzuki) 20 / 16 / 36
  4. Saris, William (NED, Yamaha) 16 / 18 / 34
  5. Beggi, Cristian (ITA, Honda) 18 / 13 / 31
  6. Martin, Christophe (FRA, Husqvarna) 9 / 20 / 29
  7. Hansen, Nicolai (DEN, Yamaha) 13 / 14 / 27
  8. Makinen, Tommi (FIN, Honda) 14 / 9 / 23
  9. Lindstrom, Kim (SWE, KTM) 6 / 15 / 21
  10. Allan, Hansen (DEN) 12 / 8 / 20
  11. Nikkila, Jussi (FIN, Yamaha) 11 / 5 / 16
  12. Bo, Vang (DEN) 15 / 0 / 15
  13. Laureyssen, Jan (BEL, Honda) 0 / 12 / 12
  14. Jensen, Kasper (DEN, Honda) 0 / 11 / 11
  15. Zerava, Martin (CZE, Honda) 4 / 7 / 11
  16. Martens, Yentel (BEL, KTM) 7 / 4 / 11
  17. Allier, Thomas (FRA, Husqvarna) 0 / 10 / 10
  18. Sjoberg, Rasmus (SWE, KTM) 10 / 0 / 10
  19. Andersson, Bjorn (SWE, Kawasaki) 8 / 0 / 8
  20. Livs, Davis (LAT, Yamaha) 0 / 6 / 6
  21. Wozniak, Daniel (DEN, Suzuki) 5 / 1 / 6
  22. Sorensen, Simon (DEN) 2 / 3 / 5
  23. Bird, Aston (GBR, Honda) 3 / 2 / 5
  24. Rouhiainen, Riku (FIN, Yamaha) 1 / 0 / 1

MX3 World Championship Classification:

  1. Breugelmans, Sven (BEL), 482 points
  2. Beggi, Cristian (ITA), 461
  3. Martin, Christophe (FRA), 440
  4. Allier, Thomas (FRA), 325
  5. Salaets, Kristof (BEL), 276
  6. Lozano, Alvaro (ESP), 261
  7. Caps, Patrick (BEL), 342
  8. Zerava, Martin (CZE), 228
  9. Hansen, Nicolai (DEN), 225
  10. Jensen, Kasper (DEN), 189
  11. Zaremba, Jan (CZE), 140
  12. Michek, Martin (CZE), 138
  13. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN), 137
  14. Kragelj, Saso (SLO), 130
  15. Garrido Gago, Adrian (ESP), 120
  16. Bricca, Daniele (ITA), 108
  17. Tonkov, Vitali (RUS), 80
  18. Dami, Stefano (ITA), 77
  19. Steinbergs, Ivo (LAT), 74
  20. Debeleder, Tom (BEL), 64
Source: Press release Youthstream
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact