Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
31.08.2008 Grand Prix of the Republic of Ireland in Dublin (IRL) - Qualifying

De Dycker, Rattray and Osbourne take Lovemytime honours at Fairyhouse

It was a dry opening day to the Grand Prix of Republic of Ireland; Ken de Dycker took his third season's Lovemytime Pole Position Award with Tyla Rattray and Zach Osbourne taking victory in the MX2 qualifying heats.
MX2 Championship runner up Tommy Searle was hit by misfortune and broke his back brake in moto two to end first in the last chance and qualify eventually.


Teka Suzuki WMX1’s Ken de Dycker showed to be at ease with the Irish track right away as he took his third season’s pole by clocking a solid lap with 10 minutes to go. Kawasaki Racing’s Tanel Leok was right behind in second as the Estonian Express could not reply to De Dycker’s attack which put him off the pole by almost 0.6 seconds.
Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki) / Photo by: Youthstream
Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki) / Photo by: Youthstream
Billy Mackenzie of CAS Honda rode a solid qualifying session as he stayed in the top five for all the 30 minutes before securing the third spot on the grid. After taking podiums in the latest four GP’s AXO KTM Silver Action’s Jonathan Barragan got ready for another strong performance and ended fourth in the time sheets ahead of Sebastien Pourcel. The GPKR rider demonstrated the value of the new fuel injection machine by remaining less than a second off De Dycker’s storming pole. Championship contenders Steve Ramon and David Philippaerts rounded off the top seven.

MX1 - Time Practice Classification:

  1. de Dycker, Ken (BEL, Suz) 1:45.660
  2. Leok, Tanel (EST, Kaw) 1:46.239
  3. Mackenzie, Billy (GBR, Hon) 1:46.564
  4. Barragan, Jonathan (ESP, KTM) 1:46.595
  5. Pourcel, Sebastien (FRA, Kaw) 1:46.639
  6. Ramon, Steve (BEL, Suz) 1:46.847
  7. Philippaerts, David (ITA, Yam) 1:47.067
  8. Nagl, Maximilian (GER, KTM) 1:47.098
  9. Desalle, Clement (BEL, Suz) 1:47.176
  10. Coppins, Joshua (NZL, Yam) 1:47.698
  11. Priem, Manuel (BEL, Kaw) 1:47.902
  12. Schiffer, Marcus (GER, KTM) 1:48.436
  13. Bill, Julien (SUI, Hon) 1:48.472
  14. de Reuver, Marc (NED, Hon) 1:48.576
  15. Aranda, Gregory (FRA, Kaw) 1:48.616
  16. Leok, Aigar (EST, Yam) 1:48.995
  17. Crockard, Gordon (IRL, Hon) 1:48.998
  18. Saylor, Jacob (USA, Kaw) 1:49.062
  19. Church, Tom (GBR, Kaw) 1:49.205
  20. Strijbos, Kevin (BEL, Kaw) 1:49.372
  21. Salvini, Alex (ITA, Suz) 1:49.791
  22. Correira, Luis (POR, Suz) 1:50.104
  23. Campano, Carlos (ESP, Yam) 1:50.350
  24. Leonce, Loic (FRA, Yam) 1:50.402
  25. Noble, James (GBR, KTM) 1:50.827
  26. Columb, Scott (NZL, Suz) 1:51.621
  27. Edmonds, Stuart (IRL, TM) 1:52.668
  28. Smith, Jamie (GBR, Kaw) 1:53.948
  29. Garrett, Wayne (GBR, Suz) 1:54.304
  30. Brown, Ross (IRL, Suz) 1:55.017


Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tyla Rattray and’s Zach Osbourne will take the best two spots in the MX2 grid tomorrow as they won the first and second qualifying heats today. While Tyla worked his way up to first by moving past KTM UK’s Shaun Simpson, Osbourne found himself at the lead when early leader Tommy Searle had a back brake problem and lost vital time before ending an eventual 13th. Ricci Racing Yamaha’s Nicolas Aubin finished second from Simpson in heat one with CLS’ Steven Frossard and Champ KTM’s Joel Roelants rounding off moto two’s top three.

MX2 Qualifying Race 1

Simpson took an early lead as Rattray was charging to move in front; the South African eventually made it and took victory from Aubin, who also moved past Simpson. The latter ended third from a solid Xavier Boog and Stephen Sword, who got rid of British countryman Jason Dougan at lap five. Making his GP comeback after a wrist injury Gareth Swanepoel took 11th.

MX2 - Qualifying Race 1 Classification:

  1. Rattray, Tyla (RSA, KTM) 24:05.249
  2. Aubin, Nicolas (FRA, Yam) +0:06.411
  3. Simpson, Shaun (GBR, KTM) +0:09.418
  4. Boog, Xavier (FRA, Suz) +0:10.324
  5. Sword, Stephen (GBR, Kaw) +0:11.248
  6. Dougan, Jason (GBR, Suz) +0:21.156
  7. Boissiere, Anthony (FRA, KTM) +0:23.578
  8. Guarneri, Davide (ITA, Yam) +0:28.303
  9. Monni, Manuel (ITA, Yam) +0:30.088
  10. Bonini, Matteo (ITA, Yam) +0:40.650
  11. Swanepoel, Gareth (RSA, Kaw) +0:41.772
  12. Goncalves, Rui (POR, KTM) +0:43.215

MX2 Qualifying Race 2

Thrills and spills characterized the second heat. Early leader Searle and Osbourne were pulling away from the rest of the field when the former had a problem to his back brake and was forced to run through the pit lane to fix it. Searle lost vital time and finished 13th –he qualified by taking first in the last chance- while Osbourne won his first ever heat. Frossard and Roelants rode strong to round off the top three. Jake Nicholls was holding the third place when he crashed out of the race – he also qualified through the last chance.
Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM) / Photo by: Youthstream
Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM) / Photo by: Youthstream

MX2 - Qualifying Race 2 Classification:

  1. Osbourne, Zach (USA, Yam) 24:22.261
  2. Frossard, Steven (FRA, Kaw) +0:12.006
  3. Roelants, Joel (BEL, KTM) +0:15.399
  4. Tarroux, Jeremy (FRA, KTM) +0:20.845
  5. Nunn, Carl (GBR, Suz) +0:27.192
  6. van Horebeek, Jeremy (BEL, KTM) +0:33.018
  7. Banks-Browne, Elliot (GBR, Suz) +0:35.476
  8. Seistola, Matti (FIN, Honda) +0:37.384
  9. Lupino, Alessandro (ITA, Yam) +0:48.961
  10. Philippaerts, Deny (ITA, Yam) +0:51.815
  11. Norlen, Marcus (SWE, Suz) +0:52.655
  12. van Vijfeijken, Rob (NED, Yam) +0:54.692

MX2 - Last Chance Qualifying Practice Classification:

  1. Searle, Tommy (GBR, KTM) 1:49.859
  2. Krestinov, Gert (EST, KTM) 1:51.434
  3. Nicholls, Jake (GBR, Suz) 1:51.757
  4. Vongsana, Khounsith (FRA, Kaw) 1:52.359
  5. Barr, Martin (GBR, Yam) 1:53.239
  6. Maier, Teddy (USA, Kaw) 1:54.171
Source: Press release Youthstream
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact