Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
15.09.2008 MX3 World Championship in Jauer (GER) - Results

The MX3 World Champion 2008 is Sven Breugelmans

The first race of the last event in Jauer (Saxony) finally gave the answer about the new MX3 World Champion. Belgian rider Sven Breugelmans (KTM) conquered his second MX3 World Title. Italian rider Cristian Beggi (Honda) is the World Vice-Champion, Cristophe Martin (Husqvarna) is the third rider in the MX3 Classification 2008.
Start MX3 / Photo by: Jens Pohl
Start MX3 / Photo by: Jens Pohl
The weekend was the most successful for Breugelmans and Martin. Breugelmans won the Championship, meanwhile Martin was unvanquishable in the race. The race track was one of the longest in the season. Although it was wide, the passing was not very easy because there were only some ideal lines. Many interesting jumps made the race even more exciting. In the first race Thomas Allier (Husqvarna) was holding the leadership, till Alvaro Lozano (KTM) passed him. Christophe Martin was riding more and more fast. He lost chances to win the Championship already a week before, but he was decided to win the last event. After the first race he said:
"My start was successful, I was fast. When I was on the fourth position I was working very hard to pass riders in front of me. I did it and I am happy that I won. It is difficult to say what will happen in the second race but I hope for my best."
Lozano finished second. Allier supplemented the success of his teammate Martin with the third position. Cristian Beggi (Honda) finished on the fourth position and it was clear that Breugelmans won the Championship. His KTM JM Racing Team has started to celebrate his World Title immediately after the first race.
Cristophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna) / Photo by: Jens Pohl
Cristophe Martin (FRA, Husqvarna) / Photo by: Jens Pohl
The second race has started with the leadership od Alvaro Lozano, Martin was just behind him. This time Lozano was resisting better than in the first race. Martin was perserving and finally he passed Lozano also in the second race. After this move Martin was riding his own race and clinched the final double victory. Interesting was also the battle for the third position. In the last laps Cristian Beggi and Antti Pyrhonen (Honda) has started to fight for the third place. They was riding wheel to wheel. Beggi was stronger, Pyrhonen has to confess his predominance and he finished fourth. The new MX3 World Champion Sven Breugelmans was planning to confirm his Title, but he did not even start the second race.
Breugelmans: "In the sighthing lap before the second race the engine of my bike stopped, I do not know why, I could not continue and it was impossible to start the race. I was lucky that it happen before the second race, when I was already the Champion. This race track was difficult. The organizer did a good preparation."
This is his second World Title in the career. With this results KTM JM Racing Team became the most successful team in the season. They won EMX2 European and also the MX3 World Title.
Sven Breugelmans (BEL, KTM) is MX3 World Champion 2008
 Photo by: Jens Pohl
Sven Breugelmans (BEL, KTM) is MX3 World Champion 2008
Photo by: Jens Pohl
Husqvarna has started and finished the season with the victory. Their rider Thomas Allier won the first event in Talavera, while Christophe Martin won the final event. The final German event brought the second place to Alvaro Lozano, Beggi finished third. He lost the Championship Title already before, when his results were not persuasive. To compensate 33 points in the last event was impossible, because Breugelmans was too strong.
Podium MX3 / Photo by: Jens Pohl
Podium MX3 / Photo by: Jens Pohl

Event Results Class MX3, Jauer:

  1. Martin, Christophe (FRA, Husqvarna) 25 / 25 / 50 points
  2. Lozano, Alvaro (ESP, KTM) 22 / 22 / 44
  3. Beggi, Cristian (ITA, Honda) 18 / 20 / 38
  4. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN, Suzuki) 15 / 18 / 33
  5. Zerava, Martin (CZE, Honda) 13 / 16 / 29
  6. Allier, Thomas (FRA, Husqvarna) 20 / 0 / 20
  7. Jensen, Kasper (DEN, Honda) 8 / 12 / 20
  8. Hansen, Nicolai (DEN, Yamaha) 12 / 7 / 19
  9. Laureyssen, Jan (BEL, Honda) 9 / 10 / 19
  10. Huber, Andreas (GER, KTM) 6 / 11 / 17
  11. Caps, Patrick (BEL, Kawasaki) 16 / 0 / 16
  12. Kragelj, Saso (SLO, Yamaha) 0 / 15 / 15
  13. Albrecht, Steffen (GER, Yamaha) 7 / 8 / 15
  14. Tyletski, Evgeni (BLR, Suzuki) 0 / 14 / 14
  15. Breugelmans, Sven (BEL, KTM) 14 / 0 / 14
  16. Salaets, Kristof (BEL, Honda) 0 / 13 / 13
  17. Schröter, Dennis (GER, KTM) 3 / 9 / 12
  18. Carlsson, Johan (SWE, Suzuki) 11 / 0 / 11
  19. Vitali, Tonkov (RUS, Yamaha) 10 / 0 / 10
  20. Rouhiainen, Riku (FIN, Yamaha) 4 / 5 / 9
  21. Torsiello, Fabio (ITA, Honda) 2 / 6 / 8
  22. Sjoberg, Rasmus (SWE, KTM) 5 / 0 / 5
  23. Tiveddu, Antonio (ITA, Honda) 1 / 4 / 5
  24. Brucart Sanchez, Ramon (ESP, Kawasaki) 0 / 3 / 3
  25. Weigert, Frédéric (BEL, Honda) 0 / 2 / 2
  26. Visser, Michel (NED, Yamaha) 0 / 1 / 1

MX3 World Championship Classification:

  1. Breugelmans, Sven (BEL), 541 points
  2. Beggi, Cristian (ITA), 532
  3. Martin, Christophe (FRA), 524
  4. Allier, Thomas (FRA), 374
  5. Lozano, Alvaro (ESP), 352
  6. Salaets, Kristof (BEL), 298
  7. Zerava, Martin (CZE), 285
  8. Caps, Patrick (BEL), 273
  9. Hansen, Nicolai (DEN), 268
  10. Jensen, Kasper (DEN), 228
  11. Pyrhonen, Antti (FIN), 212
  12. Kragelj, Saso (SLO), 169
  13. Zaremba, Jan (CZE), 140
  14. Michek, Martin (CZE), 138
  15. Garrido Gago, Adrian (ESP), 120
  16. Bricca, Daniele (ITA), 108
  17. Tonkov, Vitali (RUS), 90
  18. Dami, Stefano (ITA), 77
  19. Steinbergs, Ivo (LAT), 74
  20. Sipek, Nenad (CRO), 64
Source: Press release Youthstream
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact