Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX World Championships
11.04.2009 Grand Prix of Turkey in Istanbul (TUR) - Qualifying

Cairoli and Osborne hand Yamaha Istanbul’s pole positions

The first appearance of the FIM MX World Championship in Turkey begun today with great weather conditions and two enthralling qualifying heats. Cairoli won the MX1 heat while Osborne took the MX2 as both sealed their first pole of the season. Cairoli dominated the majority of the MX1 qualifying with Osborne exploiting a mistake of early leader Paulin.


Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Youthstream
Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Youthstream
Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Tony Cairoli put in a stunning performance at Hezarfen where he took his first ever pole in the category. The Italian, riding with a black band on the YZ450F’s handlebar due to the earthquake striking Abruzzo (a region in the centre of Italy), quickly got to grips with the new track as he was the fastest in Free Practice and in the Pre Qualifying as well. Cairoli’s win arrived when he moved past Teka Suzuki WMX1’s De Dycker and arch rival David Philippaerts of Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross. Cairoli led from the start but at mid race distance the duo made their move. Two time MX2 World Champion Cairoli fought back and won with a three second advantage over Philippaerts. De Dycker dropped from first to third. Ramon and Strijbos completed the top five as Sebastien pourcel was 14th. Tom Church was stopped by a virus and did not come to this third round. Melotte was also missing due to a problem with his back.

MX1 Qualifying Race (Top 20):

  1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 24:50.259
  2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:03.327
  3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.162
  4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.791
  5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), +0:08.454
  6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:12.677
  7. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), +0:28.812
  8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.056
  9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:35.303
  10. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:37.420
  11. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:45.790
  12. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:50.198
  13. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), +1:01.073
  14. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:03.598
  15. Julien Bill (SUI, Aprilia), +1:04.069
  16. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:13.188
  17. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:17.843
  18. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), +1:25.308
  19. Jason Dougan (GBR, CCM), +1:27.488
  20. Kevin Wouts (BEL, Honda), +1:27.552


Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Youthstream
Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha) / Photo by: Youthstream
Zach Osborne of took his first pole of the season and second of his career today at Hezarfen. The young American, who was fastest both in the Free Practice and in the Pre Qualifying, was well settled into second but the crash of race leader Paulin handed him the first win of 2009. Bud Racing Kawasaki PSM’s Paulin, who leads the MX2 series, finished an eventual second. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Shaun Simpson took a solid third ahead of Guarneri and Rombaut, who took the holeshot and led for the first lap. Teillet recovered from the tail of the group to 13 after a crash. French countrymen Boog, Musquin, Frossard, Aubin also crashed during the heat.

MX2 Qualifying Race (Top 20):

  1. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 24:59.805
  2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.286
  3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:20.384
  4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:25.092
  5. Loic Rombaut (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.663
  6. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), +0:35.031
  7. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, Honda), +0:37.998
  8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Yamaha), +0:40.160
  9. Matiss Karro (LAT, Suzuki), +0:40.948
  10. Stephen Sword (GBR, KTM), +0:43.078
  11. Marcus Schiffer (GER, KTM), +0:45.016
  12. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:50.323
  13. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), +0:51.573
  14. Cedric Soubeyras (FRA, Yamaha), +0:53.546
  15. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:55.994
  16. Jason Clermont (FRA, Honda), +0:58.815
  17. Wyatt Avis (RSA, Honda), +0:59.796
  18. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +1:01.174
  19. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:02.204
  20. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), +1:02.799
Source: Press release Youthstream
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact