Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
11.02.2007 AMA Supercross Series in Houston (USA) - Results

James Stewart wins 5th Amp’d Mobile Supercross in Houston

James Stewart (Kawasaki) picked up his fifth win of the season, and 16th of his career, at the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series before a crowd of 49,973 at Reliant Stadium. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) was the AMA Supercross Lites winner.
Tim Ferry (Kawasaki) won the US$ 1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award while his teammate and current points leader Stewart was making his way through field after a sixth-place start. As has been the case most of the season, Stewart struck early and often and eventually found the lead on lap six.
8th in Houston: Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
 Photo by: Suzuki Racing
8th in Houston: Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Once in the lead, Stewart cruised to the easy win by a comfortable 17.316 margin. The Australian Chad Reed (Yamaha) was second and Ferry was third.
"I had a big crash earlier in practice and knew that this track could come back and bite me," said Stewart, who moved into a tie for 10th on the all-time series win list with supercross legend Jean-Michele Bayle. "I have a points lead but can’t afford to back down because things can get bad when you start to let up."
Stewart holds an 18-point lead over Reed in the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP standings and enjoys a 21-point margin in the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series.
Ryan Villopoto started the main event by winning the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award narrowly edging out the Yamaha of Jason Lawrence. Villopoto held the lead for the opening five laps before a crash on lap six handed the lead to Lawrence.
Lawrence held down the top spot until being chased down by Villopoto, who regrouped and held on to take the win, his fifth of the season. Lawrence finished second while Josh Grant (Honda) was third.
"(A lapped rider) just jumped right off the table top, hit a tuff block and went down right in front of me," said Villopoto in reference to his crash on lap six. "I had nowhere to go and ran right into him. I got back up and chased (Lawrence) down for the win."
5th in Houston: Martin Davalos (KTM) / Photo by: T. Olson / KTM
5th in Houston: Martin Davalos (KTM) / Photo by: T. Olson / KTM

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Houston:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  5. Travis A. Preston (Honda)
  6. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  7. Heath D. Voss (Honda)
  8. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  9. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki)
  10. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  11. Cole T. Siebler (Honda)
  12. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)
  13. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki)
  14. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda)
  15. Jacob Marsack (Kawasaki)
  16. Ryan D. Clark (Honda)
  17. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki)
  18. Kyle Lewis (Honda)
  19. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha)
  20. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki)

Amp’d Mobile Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Houston:

  1. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki)
  2. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha)
  3. Joshua M. Grant (Honda)
  4. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha)
  5. Martin Davalos (KTM)
  6. Jake T. Weimer (Honda)
  7. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha)
  8. Kyle B. Cunningham (Yamaha)
  9. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki)
  10. Troy K. Adams (Suzuki)
  11. Dusty Klatt (Yamaha)
  12. Joshua Hansen (KTM)
  13. Dennis G. Jonon (KTM)
  14. Bradley R. Graham (Kawasaki)
  15. Chris Blose (Yamaha)
  16. Ryan Grantom (Yamaha)
  17. Joaquim Rodrigues (Kawasaki)
  18. Tyler A. Keefe (Kawasaki)
  19. Michael L. Willard (KTM)
  20. Michael J. Lapaglia (Yamaha)
  21. Vernon A. Mckiddie (Yamaha)
  22. Kyle Partridge (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 147 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 126
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 110
  4. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 88
  5. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 84
  6. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 76
  7. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 69
  8. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 69
  9. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 66
  10. David Vuillemin (Honda), 62
  11. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 60
  12. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 57
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 47
  14. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 46
  15. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 34
  16. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki), 32
  17. Joshua Summey (Honda), 25
  18. Cole Siebler (Honda), 24
  19. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 16
  20. Jeff Dement (Yamaha), 13

Amp’d Mobile Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 147 points
  2. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 113
  3. Jake T. Weimer (Honda), 89
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Honda), 84
  5. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 77
  6. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha), 77
  7. Joshua Hansen (KTM), 71
  8. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 70
  9. Steve Boniface (Kawasaki), 61
  10. Troy K. Adams (Suzuki), 58
  11. Kyle B. Cunningham (Yamaha), 55
  12. Kyle Partridge (Honda), 51
  13. Martin Davalos (KTM), 50
  14. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki), 48
  15. Michael J. Lapaglia (Yamaha), 38
  16. Justin F. Keeney (Kawasaki), 32
  17. Dusty Klatt (Yamaha), 32
  18. Dennis G. Jonon (KTM), 22
  19. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda), 18
  20. Chris Blose (Yamaha), 18

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 189 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 171
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 142
  4. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 116
  5. Nicholas Wey (Honda), 108
  6. David Vuillemin (Honda), 101
  7. Travis Preston (Honda), 98
  8. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 96
  9. Heath Voss (Honda), 95
  10. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 86
  11. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 76
  12. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 70
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 66
  14. Cole Siebler (Honda), 41
  15. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 41
source: Press release
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact