Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
18.02.2007 AMA Supercross Series in San Diego (USA) - Results

Chad Reed rides to first win since Toronto

Chad Reed (Yamaha) won his first Amp’d Mobile World SX GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA SX Series race aboard a Yamaha at Qualcomm Stadium before 60,529 fans. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) clinched the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship, marking his sixth win of the season and his first-ever AMA Supercross Lites championship.
Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki) won his first US$ 1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award of the season, beating Reed and James Stewart (Kawasaki) through turn one. By the end of lap one, Reed moved into the lead while Stewart pulled into second place on lap two. After trading positions on lap three, Stewart passed Reed for the lead where he stayed until lap eight. While taking off on the finish line jump, Stewart was ejected from his bike, resulting in a crash that sent him back to seventh place. Reed rode off to the win and Tim Ferry (Kawasaki) finished second. Kevin Windham (Honda) finished a season-best third place.
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
"I love this place," said Reed. "I have had so many great races here, and this is huge for me. Second place was getting really old. It’s a shame to see James crash like that, but this is a big relief for me because I know I can win."
Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki) earned the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award with Martin Davalos (KTM) in second. Starting in third place, Villopoto made a quick charge around Davalos on lap one and passed Gosselaar on lap 2. He went on to ride the next 13 laps flawlessly en route to the championship. Jason Lawrence (Yamaha), who had a mid-pack start, blitzed his way through the field to finish in second place. Gosselaar was third.
"I am so ecstatic right now," said Villopoto. "I had a great start in my heat race, then a great start in the main. My teammate, Christopher Gosselaar was in the lead early on and by lap two I made my way to the lead. This is a great accomplishment for me, and I could not have done it without my family."

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, San Diego:

  1. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  2. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  3. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  5. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  6. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  7. Heath D. Voss (Honda)
  8. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki)
  9. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  10. Travis A. Preston (Honda)
  11. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki)
  12. Joshua Summey (Honda)
  13. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki)
  14. Ryan D. Clark (Honda)
  15. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki)
  16. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda)
  17. Jacob Marsack (Kawasaki)
  18. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)
  19. Jason W. Thomas (Honda)
  20. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha)

Amp’d Mobile Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, San Diego:

  1. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki)
  2. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha)
  3. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki)
  4. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha)
  5. Joshua Hansen (KTM)
  6. Martin Davalos (KTM)
  7. Jake T. Weimer (Honda)
  8. Troy K. Adams (Suzuki)
  9. Michael J. Lapaglia (Yamaha)
  10. Kyle B. Cunningham (Yamaha)
  11. Dusty Klatt (Yamaha)
  12. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha)
  13. Joshua M. Grant (Honda)
  14. Joaquim Rodrigues (Kawasaki)
  15. Kyle Partridge (Honda)
  16. Michael L. Willard (KTM)
  17. Chris Blose (Yamaha)
  18. Vernon A. Mckiddie (Yamaha)
  19. Tyler A. Keefe (Kawasaki)
  20. Ryan Grantom (Yamaha)
  21. Brady A. Sheren (Honda)
  22. Richie Owens (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 163 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 151
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 132
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 104
  5. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 103
  6. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 87
  7. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 84
  8. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 83
  9. David Vuillemin (Honda), 74
  10. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 70
  11. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 69
  12. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 60
  13. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 54
  14. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 47
  15. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki), 38
  16. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 37
  17. Joshua Summey (Honda), 34
  18. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 26
  19. Cole Siebler (Honda), 24
  20. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 20

Amp’d Mobile Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 172 points
  2. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 135
  3. Jake T. Weimer (Honda), 103
  4. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 97
  5. Joshua M. Grant (Honda), 92
  6. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 88
  7. Joshua Hansen (KTM), 87
  8. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha), 86
  9. Troy K. Adams (Suzuki), 71
  10. Kyle B. Cunningham (Yamaha), 66
  11. Martin Davalos (KTM), 65
  12. Steve Boniface (Kawasaki), 61
  13. Kyle Partridge (Honda), 57
  14. Michael J. Lapaglia (Yamaha), 50
  15. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki), 48
  16. Dusty Klatt (Yamaha), 42
  17. Justin F. Keeney (Kawasaki), 32
  18. Dennis G. Jonon (KTM), 22
  19. Michael L. Willard (KTM), 22
  20. Chris Blose (Yamaha), 22

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 207 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 196
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 164
  4. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 116
  5. David Vuillemin (Honda), 114
  6. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 112
  7. Travis Preston (Honda), 110
  8. Heath Voss (Honda), 110
  9. Nicholas Wey (Honda), 108
  10. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 100
  11. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 90
  12. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 85
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 66
  14. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 47
  15. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 46
source: Press release
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact