Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
25.02.2007 AMA Supercross Series in Atlanta (USA) - Results

James Stewart out duels Ricky Carmichael to earn Amp’d Mobile Supercross in Atlanta

James "Bubba" Stewart (Kawasaki) picked up his sixth win of the season tonight at the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series before a record crowd of 70,649 at the Georgia Dome. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) captured the first AMA Supercross Lites win of his career.
The Australian Chad Reed (Yamaha) grabbed the US$ 1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the 20-lap AMA Supercross class main event, but it was Stewart who took over the lead a few turns later. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) slipped into the third spot.
Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
 Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Reed slid out on lap four and dropped back to fifth, giving the lead to Stewart, who was closely followed by Carmichael. The two riders sprinted away from the field and engaged in a one-on-one battle for the top spot.
Carmichael, who made a spirited return to racing after taking off the last three races, came within a few bike lengths of Stewart in the closing moments of the race but was unable to make the pass. Carmichael finished second and Reed finished third.
"James rode well tonight," said Carmichael. "In the early part of the race, Chad was in front of me as well as James, so I knew I had to make my move early. Once Chad went down, I tried to reel James in, but he was going so fast in the rhythm section tonight. I’d like thank all the fans who have supported me here through the years."
"Ricky kept honest tonight," said Stewart. "It was a great race, but I was getting caught up with some of the lappers. Every time I went through the rhythm section I was scared. We had a great crowd on hand tonight."
Mike Alessi (KTM) won the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the AMA Supercross Lites main event. Dungey and the New Zealander Ben Townley (Kawasaki) quickly shot to the front, with the two riders crossing the finish line side by side at the end of lap one.
Dungey took over the lead on the ensuing lap and held off a mid-race charge from Townley to take the win. Townley dropped out of the race with an apparent mechanical failure. Darcy Lange (Kawasaki) was second while Matt Goerke (Yamaha) was third.
"This felt so good," said Dungey. "I really want to thank Roger DeCoster and Team Suzuki for giving me this opportunity. It’s been a great experience working with my teammates Ricky Carmichael and Ivan Tedesco. I look forward to the rest of the season. Getting this win makes going into St. Louis a little easier."

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Atlanta:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  2. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
  3. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  5. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  6. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  7. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda)
  8. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda)
  10. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki)
  11. Tyler Evans (Suzuki)
  12. Travis A. Preston (Honda)
  13. Jason W. Thomas (Honda)
  14. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  15. Brock Sellards (Honda)
  16. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha)
  17. Kevin W. Johnson (Yamaha)
  18. David D. Millsaps (Honda)
  19. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki)
  20. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki)
  21. Robbie L. Reynard (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Atlanta:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki)
  2. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki)
  3. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha)
  4. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
  5. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha)
  6. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha)
  7. Zach M. Osborne (KTM)
  8. Matt Boni (Kawasaki)
  9. Ryan Sipes (Honda)
  10. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki)
  11. Sean T. Collier (Yamaha)
  12. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda)
  13. Jeff Alessi (KTM)
  14. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki)
  15. Ricky L. Renner (Honda)
  16. Zach T. Ames (Honda)
  17. Greg S. Schnell (Honda)
  18. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda)
  19. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha)
  20. Kevin D. Rookstool (KTM)
  21. Mike A. Alessi (KTM)
  22. Ben Townley (Kawasaki)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 188 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 171
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 145
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 119
  5. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 108
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 101
  7. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 96
  8. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 94
  9. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 91
  10. David Vuillemin (Honda), 100
  11. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 80
  12. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 70
  13. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 64
  14. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 51
  15. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 46
  16. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki), 37
  17. Joshua Summey (Honda), 33
  18. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 30
  19. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 27
  20. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 20

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 25 Punkte
  2. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki), 22
  3. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha), 20
  4. Ryan Morais (Yamaha), 18
  5. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha), 16
  6. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha), 15
  7. Zach M. Osborne (KTM), 14
  8. Matt Boni (Kawasaki), 13
  9. Ryan Sipes (Honda), 12
  10. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki), 11
  11. Sean T. Collier (Yamaha), 10
  12. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda), 9
  13. Jeff Alessi (KTM), 8
  14. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 7
  15. Ricky L. Renner (Honda), 6
  16. Zach T. Ames (Honda), 5
  17. Greg S. Schnell (Honda), 4
  18. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda), 2
  19. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha), 2
  20. Kevin D. Rookstool (KTM), 1

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 232 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 216
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 180
  4. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 136
  5. David Vuillemin (Honda), 128
  6. Heath Voss (Honda), 123
  7. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 121
  8. Travis Preston (Honda), 120
  9. Nicholas Wey (Honda), 108
  10. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 108
  11. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 106
  12. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 97
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 66
  14. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 57
  15. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 47
Source: Press release
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact