Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
10.03.2007 AMA Supercross Series in Daytona Beach (USA) - Results

James Stewart wins Daytona Supercross by Honda

James Stewart (Kawasaki) dominated Friday night’s Daytona Supercross by Honda leading every lap on his way to a 13.571-second victory, his first win in the main event at "The World Center of Racing".
Stewart, who only previous victory at Daytona International Speedway was in 2004 in the Supercross Lites class, took the hole shot and never looked back holding off Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) and Chad Reed (Yamaha).
"I just got to give this win a lot of credit to my dad," said Stewart, who is from nearby Haines City, Florida. "He puts a lot of work on me during the week and it showed tonight. I never got tired and I felt good. I just got to give credit to everyone around me. It’s not a one-man show – it’s a team sport."
Podium Class Supercross / Photo: Daytona International Speedway
Podium Class Supercross / Photo: Daytona International Speedway
Carmichael, who owns an unprecedented five Daytona Supercross by Honda victories, made his final Daytona Supercross by Honda start at Daytona International Speedway on Friday night.
The native of Florida is making the transition from Supercross to stock cars and has a developmental contract with Bobby Ginn Racing, which fields NASCAR NEXTEL Cup teams with drivers Mark Martin, Sterling Marlin, Joe Nemechek and Regan Smith.
"It’s been an amazing ride," Carmichael said. "To win here five times in front of you guys has just been amazing. You know, every dog has its day and my day is getting thin, but I think I’m pretty good making (the riders) work."
Aussie Chad Reed, who won back-to-back Daytona Supercross by Hondas in 2004 and 2005, rounded out the podium.
"I knew I needed a good start and just didn’t get the start," Reed said. "Just didn’t come through like I know I needed to - no other fault."
In the Lites East Daytona Supercross by Honda, Ben Townley (Kawasaki) took a 5.762-second victory over Thomas Hahn (Honda) and Mike Alessi (KTM).
Podium Class Supercross Lites/ Photo: Daytona International Speedway
Podium Class Supercross Lites/ Photo: Daytona International Speedway

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Daytona Beach:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  2. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki)
  3. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  4. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  5. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  7. Grant Langston (Yamaha)
  8. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  9. David D. Millsaps (Honda)
  10. Joshua Summey (Honda)
  11. Heath D. Voss (Honda)
  12. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  13. Ryan D Clark (Honda)
  14. Kyle L.ewis (Honda)
  15. Kevin W. Johnson (Yamaha)
  16. Jason W. Thomas (Honda)
  17. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha)
  18. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki)
  19. Jacob Marsack (Kawasaki)
  20. Travis A. Preston (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Daytona Beach:

  1. Ben Townley (Kawasaki)
  2. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda)
  3. Mike A. Alessi (KTM)
  4. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda)
  5. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
  6. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki)
  7. Jeff Alessi (KTM)
  8. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha)
  9. Ryan Sipes (Honda)
  10. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha)
  11. Ricky L. Renner (Honda)
  12. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha)
  13. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki)
  14. Matt Boni (Kawasaki)
  15. Broc Oneal Tickle (Yamaha)
  16. Kyle S. Tobin (Yamaha)
  17. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha)
  18. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki)
  19. Greg S. Schnell (Honda)
  20. Robert A. Marshall (Kawasaki)
  21. Andrew Mcfarlane (Suzuki)
  22. William A. Browning (Suzuki)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standing:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 235 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 211
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 167
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 153
  5. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 138
  6. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 123
  7. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 118
  8. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 117
  9. David Vuillemin (Honda), 114
  10. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 98
  11. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 84
  12. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 80
  13. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 73
  14. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 67
  15. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 46
  16. Joshua Summey (Honda), 45
  17. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 42
  18. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki), 37
  19. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 34
  20. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 30

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Ryan Morais (Yamaha), 56 points
  2. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki), 52
  3. Ben Townley (Kawasaki), 50
  4. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha), 49
  5. Mike A. Alessi (KTM), 38
  6. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha), 37
  7. Ryan Sipes (Honda), 37
  8. Jeff Alessi (KTM), 36
  9. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda), 34
  10. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha), 29
  11. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 28
  12. Zach M. Osborne (KTM), 26
  13. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda), 25
  14. Ricky L. Renner (Honda), 25
  15. Broc Oneal Tickle (Yamaha), 22
  16. Matt Boni (Kawasaki), 22
  17. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha), 16
  18. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 15
  19. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki), 14
  20. Kyle S. Tobin (Yamaha), 13

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 254 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 236
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 186
  4. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 161
  5. David Vuillemin (Honda), 144
  6. Heath Voss (Honda), 137
  7. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 128
  8. Travis Preston (Honda), 123
  9. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 121
  10. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 112
  11. Nicholas Wey (Honda), 108
  12. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 107
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 84
  14. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 57
  15. Cole T. Siebler (Honda) 53
Source: Press release AMA Motocross
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact