Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
01.04.2007 AMA Supercross Series in Irving (USA) - Results

James Stewart wins 10th Amp’d Mobile Supercross of the season

James Stewart (Kawasaki) picked up his tenth win of the season in the Amp’d Mobile World SX GP / Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series before a crowd of 41,635 at Texas Stadium. Ben Townley (kawasaki) won the AMA Supercross Lites main event.
Andrew Short (Honda) grabbed the US$ 1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award off the start. Short’s lead was short lived as Stewart went flying by at the start of lap three. Chad Reed(Yamaha) kept him honest as only a few bike lengths separated the two riders for the remaining 18 laps.
In the final turn, Reed made one last attempt at the win but came up just short of sneaking inside of Stewart, who finished with a .085-margin of victory.
"I’ll take anything over last weekend," said Stewart in reference to his poor start and come-from-behind win last week in Indianapolis. "The first two laps I was just kind of riding. The track changed a lot from the heat race to the main. I swept Texas this year (winning Houston earlier in the year) and that’s big."
Townley earned the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to the start the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites main event, followed by Kawasaki teammate Darcy Lange and Ryan Dungey (Suzuki). Lange would claim the lead on the opening lap with Dungey and Townley in close tow.
Dungey took over the lead on lap four and was beginning to pull away before a crash on lap eight handed the lead to Townley. Once out front, Townley went on to the victory, his third of the season. Lange finished second while Dungey rounded out the top three.
"Darcy and Dungey gave me a good battle out there," said Townley, who closed to within three points of series points leader Ryan Morais who finished fourth. "It’s (the championship) going to go down to the wire. Detroit’s going to be an intense one. I’m just going to go home and work as hard as I can to be ready for it."

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Irving:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  4. David D. Millsaps (Honda)
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda)
  6. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  7. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  8. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki)
  9. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  10. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki)
  11. Jacob Marsack (Kawasaki)
  12. Joe Oehlhof (Kawasaki)
  13. Brock Sellards (Honda)
  14. Grant Langston (Yamaha)
  15. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  16. Kevin W. Johnson (Yamaha)
  17. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki)
  18. Cole T. Siebler (Honda)
  19. Josh R. Demuth (Kawasaki)
  20. Joshua Summey (Honda)
  21. Jason W. Thomas (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Irving:

  1. Ben Townley (Kawasaki)
  2. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki)
  3. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki)
  4. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
  5. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda)
  6. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha)
  7. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha)
  8. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki)
  9. Broc Oneal Tickle (Yamaha)
  10. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha)
  11. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki)
  12. Matt Boni (Kawasaki)
  13. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda)
  14. Zach M. Osborne (KTM)
  15. Jeff Alessi (KTM)
  16. Sean L. Hackley (Yamaha)
  17. Fred D. Karrle (Suzuki)
  18. Travis L. Sewell (Suzuki)
  19. Ronny Jackson (Kawasaki)
  20. Cory A. Green (Honda)
  21. Eric Nye (KTM)
  22. Mike A. Alessi (KTM)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 310 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 275
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 223
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 182
  5. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 160
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 158
  7. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 158
  8. David Vuillemin (Honda), 154
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 134
  10. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 113
  11. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 98
  12. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 94
  13. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 80
  14. Joshua Summey (Honda), 68
  15. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 67
  16. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 55
  17. Grant Langston (Yamaha), 55
  18. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 54
  19. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 51
  20. Tyler Evans (Suzuki), 47

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Ryan Morais (Yamaha), 114 points
  2. Ben Townley (Kawasaki), 111
  3. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki), 106
  4. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha), 88
  5. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha), 83
  6. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 73
  7. Mike A. Alessi (KTM), 71
  8. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha), 68
  9. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda), 67
  10. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda), 64
  11. Jeff Alessi (KTM), 54
  12. Broc Oneal Tickle (Yamaha), 47
  13. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 44
  14. Matt Boni (Kawasaki), 41
  15. Kelly D. Smith (Suzuki), 38
  16. Tucker J. Hibbert (Yamaha), 38
  17. Ryan Sipes (Honda), 37
  18. Zach M. Osborne (KTM), 36
  19. Ricky L. Renner (Honda), 34
  20. Greg S. Schnell (Honda), 14

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 329 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 300
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 242
  4. David Vuillemin (Honda), 190
  5. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 185
  6. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 171
  7. Heath Voss (Honda), 159
  8. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 159
  9. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 156
  10. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 139
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact