Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
06.05.2007 AMA Supercross Series in Las Vegas (USA) - Results

James Stewart closes out Amp’d Mobile SX with 13th win

In front of 39,006, James Stewart (Kawasaki) capped off a successful AMA World SX GP/Amp’d Mobile SX Series with a win at the season finale inside Sam Boyd Stadium. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) won the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West AMA Supercross Lites Shootout and was awarded a 2007 Toyota Tundra Truck.
David Vuillemin (Honda) clinched the Unites States Smokeless Tobacco Company’s Pro Privateer Challenge last weekend at Seattle’s Qwest Field and walked away with US$ 25,000. Tonight Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki) secured the second place and took home US$ 15,000. Heath Voss (Honda) finished third in the final World Supercross GP standings, earning the US$ 10,000 third place award.
James Stewart (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
James Stewart (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
In the AMA Supercross main event, Stewart won the US$ 1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award with Chad Reed (Yamaha) in tow. After securing both the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP and Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series titles in Seattle, Stewart turned in another dominant performance and walked away with his 13th win of the season. Reed was second while Kevin Windham (Honda) finished third.
"I had a perfect 20 laps out there, no mistakes," said Stewart. "Chad was running with me in the beginning. I felt like I had some really good lines out there. I work really hard. I won’t let me guard down."
Ben Townley (Kawasaki) grabbed the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the 15-lap AMA Supercross Lites main event. Dungey quickly took over the lead on the opening lap, with Townley, who won the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross title and Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki), who won the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites title, trailing.
Before the end of lap one, Townley and Villopoto suffered mechanical problems. Villopoto withdrew from the race and Townley re-started in last place. On lap three Josh Hill (Yamaha) attempted to pass Dungey but crashed. Jake Weimer (Honda) pulled into second place but was unable to catch Dungey. Dungey rode to his fourth AMA Supercross Lites victory of the season. Weimer finished second and Martin Davalos (KTM) finished third.
"Hard work pays off," said Dungey. "Just last year, before I turned pro, I was watching this race from the stands. I have come a long way in a year, and I am so pumped to be up on the podium. I owe this to my team and family, who have supported me all year. This was a great crowd; I could hear them every lap screaming and cheering."

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Las Vegas:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki)
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  3. Kevin W. Windham (Honda)
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki)
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda)
  6. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki)
  7. David Vuillemin (Honda)
  8. Joshua Summey (Honda)
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda)
  10. Michael Byrne (Suzuki)
  11. Brock Sellards (Honda)
  12. Jason W. Thomas (Honda)
  13. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki)
  14. Ryan D. Clark (Honda)
  15. Kyle Lewis (Honda)
  16. Keith R. Johnson (Yamaha)
  17. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki)
  18. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda)
  19. Grant Langston (Yamaha)
  20. Robbie L. Reynard (Honda)
  21. David D. Millsaps (Honda)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Las Vegas:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki)
  2. Jake T. Weimer (Honda)
  3. Martin Davalos (KTM)
  4. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha)
  5. Thomas K. Hahn (Honda)
  6. Joshua M. Grant (Honda)
  7. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki)
  8. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
  9. Darcy G. Lange (Kawasaki)
  10. Justin D. Brayton (Yamaha)
  11. Billy R. Laninovich (Honda)
  12. Branden L. Jesseman (Yamaha)
  13. Steve Boniface (Kawasaki)
  14. Jeff Alessi (KTM)
  15. Troy K. Adams (Suzuki)
  16. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki)
  17. Joshua Hansen (KTM)
  18. Kyle Partridge (Honda)
  19. Matthew C. Goerke (Yamaha)
  20. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha)
  21. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki)
  22. Ben Townley (Kawasaki)

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standing:

  1. James M. Stewart (Kawasaki), 385 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 334
  3. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 276
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 240
  5. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 197
  6. David Vuillemin (Honda), 196
  7. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 189
  8. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 160
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 160
  10. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 143
  11. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 118
  12. Joshua Summey (Honda), 103
  13. Travis A. Preston (Honda), 98
  14. Nicholas A. Wey (Honda), 80
  15. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 79
  16. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 77
  17. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 67
  18. Grant Langston (Yamaha), 66
  19. Eric Sorby (Kawasaki), 57
  20. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 51

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:

  1. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 404 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 364
  3. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 302
  4. David Vuillemin (Honda), 240
  5. Michael Byrne (Suzuki), 211
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Suzuki), 206
  7. Paul Carpenter (Kawasaki), 194
  8. Heath Voss (Honda), 189
  9. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 185
  10. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 171
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact