Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
14.04.2008 AMA Supercross Series in Detroit (USA) - Results

David Millsaps wins stunner at Monster Energy® Supercross

Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps picked up his second win of the season at tonight’s Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, at Ford Field. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto won the AMA Supercross Lites class main event win.
Davi Millsaps (Honda) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Davi Millsaps (Honda) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Honda’s Eric Sorby won the US$ 1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award to begin the 20-lap AMA Supercross class main event. Millsaps closed in on Sorby and took over the lead on the second lap, bringing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Timmy Ferry and Torco Honda’s Kevin Windham with him to round out the top three.
Millsaps turned in a strong, consistent ride to lead the remaining 18 laps en route to the victory. Ferry held on to finish second with Windham winding up in third.
"I found some really good lines in practice and got a good start in the main and took care of the rest," said Millsaps. "I got caught up in lappers but ended up fighting through. It was unfortunate what happened to Chad today but I felt like I rode a good race and really earned it tonight."
The subplot of the entire day was the misfortune of points leader and eight-time winner Chad Reed. The San Manuel of Mission Indians Yamaha rider suffered a hard crash in practice, sending him to the hospital for multiple injuries to his chest and shoulder. Reed was released from the hospital and would use an AMA Provisional, which allows for a rider within the top 10 in points to advance directly to the main, where he would eventually finish in 12th place.
Reed’s injury has drastically tightened the points chase in the AMA Supercross class, with Windham now sitting just 16 points back with three races remaining.

AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Detroit:

  1. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 25 points
  2. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 22
  3. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 20
  4. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 18
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 16
  6. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 15
  7. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 14
  8. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 13
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 12
  10. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 11
  11. Kelly D. Smith (Kawasaki), 10
  12. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 9
  13. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 8
  14. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 7
  15. Eric Sorby (Honda), 6
  16. Keith R. Johnson (Yamaha), 5
  17. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 4
  18. Paul P. Carpenter (Honda), 3
  19. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 2
  20. Jacob Marsack (Honda), 1

AMA Supercross Series Season Standing:

  1. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 296 points
  2. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 280
  3. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 229
  4. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 221
  5. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 191
  6. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 189
  7. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 155
  8. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 137
  9. Paul P. Carpenter (Honda), 123
  10. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 121
  11. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 120
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 101
  13. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 81
  14. Eric Sorby (Honda), 76
  15. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 75
  16. Troy K. Adams (Honda), 72
  17. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 69
  18. Jacob Marsack (Honda), 66
  19. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 53
  20. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 51
  21. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 47
  22. Joshua Hansen (Yamaha), 46
  23. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 40
  24. Grant Langston (Yamaha), 38
  25. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 33
Villopoto grabbed the US$ 1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the 15-lap AMA Supercross Lites main event. Torco Honda’s Trey Canard and Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s local rider Nico Izzi settled into the second and third positions.
Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Villopoto, winner of the previous two main events leading into Detroit, quickly checked out and rode a near flawless race to earn his third victory of the season. Boost Yamaha’s Ryan Morais finished second while Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Brendan Jesseman was third.
Villopoto’s win coupled with a 10th-place finish for Canard, who crashed on lap seven and had a difficult time restarting his bike, has reduced Canard’s lead to three points in the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites standings with one race remaining.
"I got off to a bad start this year and put myself in a hole out of the gate," said Villopoto. "I came around there and saw that (Canard) was down. It was definitely what I needed and it’s good to be down just three points down with one race to go."

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Detroit:

  1. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 25 points
  2. Ryan Morais (Yamaha), 22
  3. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki), 20
  4. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki), 18
  5. Matthew C. Goerke (KTM), 16
  6. Tyler T. Bowers (Yamaha), 15
  7. Kyle Partridge (Honda), 14
  8. Kyle P. Chisholm (Kawasaki), 13
  9. Travis L. Sewell (Suzuki), 12
  10. Trey G. Canard (Honda), 11
  11. Kyle D. Keylon (Honda), 10
  12. Zach T. Ames (Honda), 9
  13. Nathan H. Skaggs (Honda), 8
  14. Billy R. Payne (Honda), 7
  15. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda), 6
  16. Gray Davenport (Kawasaki), 0
  17. Justin M. Sipes (Suzuki), 4
  18. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 3
  19. Joshua M. Grant (Honda), 2
  20. Shane M. Sewell (Kawasaki), 1

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Trey G. Canard (Honda), 122 points
  2. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 119
  3. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki), 86
  4. Tyler T. Bowers (Yamaha), 76
  5. Martin Davalos (KTM), 73
  6. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki), 72
  7. Joshua M. Grant (Honda), 71
  8. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 70
  9. Ryan Morais (Yamaha), 68
  10. Billy R. Payne (Honda), 60
  11. Ben Coisy (Honda), 53
  12. Matthew C. Goerke (KTM), 50
  13. Kyle P. Chisholm (Kawasaki), 43
  14. Kyle Partridge (Honda), 41
  15. Travis L. Sewell (Suzuki), 37
  16. Matt Boni (Honda), 30
  17. Jake Moss (Yamaha), 28
  18. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki), 26
  19. Zach T. Ames (Honda), 18
  20. William A. Browning (Suzuki), 17
  21. Nathan H. Skaggs (Honda), 17
  22. Ricky L. Renner (Kawasaki), 16
  23. Justin M. Sipes (Suzuki), 15
  24. Phillip J. Nicoletti (Kawasaki), 15
  25. Shane M. Sewell (Kawasaki), 14
Source: Press release
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact