Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
27.04.2008 AMA Supercross Series in Seattle (USA) - Results

Windham again at Monster Energy Supercross / Lawrence captures Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Championship

Torco Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham won his second consecutive Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship race in front of 48,328 fans at Qwest Field.
Yamaha of Troy’s Jason Lawrence won the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class championship. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey won the main event and finished second overall in the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class.
Kevin Windham (Honda) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Kevin Windham (Honda) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short won the US$ 1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award to start the AMA Supercross class main event, but Windham quickly passed him and moved into the lead. Team San Manuel Yamaha’s Chad Reed, who came into tonight’s race 13 points ahead of Windham, crashed in turn one and started the race in last place.
On lap 2, while leading, Windham suffered a mechanical malfunction when a banner got tied up in his back wheel. He stopped his bike and removed the banner from the rear wheel, dropping back to sixth place. Windham charged back through the field and re-captured the lead on lap 17. Reed charged his way to second place with a last-lap pass on Short.
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
"In the first turn, I crashed into the back wheel of Davi Millsaps’ bike and fell down," said Reed. "When I was coming through the pack, I saw a bunch of Honda bikes and knew I was outnumbered, but I made the pass."
"I rode great tonight," said Windham. "I wish I came away with more points, but that’s how it goes. I am excited to go to Las Vegas next week. It’s going to be a great race."

AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Seattle:

  1. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 22
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 20
  4. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 18
  5. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 16
  6. Joshua M. Grant (Honda), 15
  7. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 14
  8. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 13
  9. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 12
  10. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 11
  11. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 10
  12. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 9
  13. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 8
  14. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 7
  15. Manuel Rivas (Kawasaki), 6
  16. Christopher Gosselaar (Honda), 5
  17. Tyler Bright (Honda), 4
  18. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 3
  19. Dusty Klatt (Kawasaki), 2
  20. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 1

AMA Supercross Series Season Standing:

  1. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 340 points
  2. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 330
  3. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 262
  4. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 261
  5. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 210
  6. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 206
  7. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 173
  8. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 158
  9. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 144
  10. Paul P. Carpenter (Honda), 136
  11. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 130
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 120
  13. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 96
  14. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 93
  15. Eric Sorby (Honda), 83
  16. Troy K. Adams (Honda), 74
  17. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 69
  18. Jacob Marsack (Honda), 66
  19. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 53
  20. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 52
  21. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 51
  22. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 47
  23. Joshua Hansen (Yamaha), 46
  24. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 39
  25. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 39
In the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race, Team Solitaire’s Bobby Kiniry won the US$ 1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award. Dungey followed closely in second while Lawrence, who came into tonight’s race with a six-point lead over Dungey, started in fourth place.
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
While Dungey pulled away from the field, Lawrence moved into second place and rode to the first AMA Supercross Lites championship of his career. Yamaha’s Broc Hepler finished in third place. The win for Dungey was his third of the season.
Jason Lawrence (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
Jason Lawrence (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
"Once I settled into second place, I was really nervous," said Lawrence. "I just wanted to keep it on two wheels and ride a smart race. I was really comfortable when my Yamaha teammate Broc Hepler was behind me."
"I was really happy with the way I rode tonight," said Dungey. "I know where I made some mistakes this year, and I am going to fix them. I learned a lot this year."

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Seattle:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 25 points
  2. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 22
  3. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha), 20
  4. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki), 18
  5. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki), 16
  6. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 15
  7. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki), 14
  8. Kyle B. Cunningham (Honda), 13
  9. Michael L. Willard (Honda), 12
  10. Justin F. Keeney (Honda), 11
  11. Chris Blose (Suzuki), 10
  12. Adam B. Chatfield (Suzuki), 9
  13. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 8
  14. Gavin L. Gracyk (Honda), 7
  15. Zach M. Osborne (Yamaha), 6
  16. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha), 5
  17. Wil A. Hahn (Yamaha), 4
  18. Kyle D. Beaton (Yamaha), 3
  19. Carlos J. Gonzalez (KTM), 2
  20. Robert S. Kiniry (Honda), 1

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:

  1. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 157 points
  2. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 154
  3. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki), 131
  4. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki), 126
  5. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki), 117
  6. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 100
  7. Daniel James Reardon (Honda), 95
  8. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha), 79
  9. Wil A. Hahn (Yamaha), 73
  10. Robert S. Kiniry (Honda), 72
  11. Kyle B. Cunningham (Honda), 70
  12. Gavin L. Gracyk (Honda), 69
  13. Billy R. Laninovich (KTM), 62
  14. Chris Blose (Suzuki), 62
  15. Jake T. Weimer (Honda), 55
  16. Michael J. Lapaglia (Suzuki), 49
  17. Michael L. Willard (Honda), 41
  18. Jeff S. Northrop (Honda), 39
  19. Michael R. Blose (Suzuki), 33
  20. Justin F. Keeney (Honda), 24
  21. Adam B. Chatfield (Suzuki), 20
  22. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha), 19
  23. Andrew McFarlane (Kawasaki), 17
  24. Zach M. Osborne (Yamaha), 14
  25. Tiger Lacey (Honda), 14
Source: Press release
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact