Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
05.05.2008 AMA Supercross Series in Las Vegas (USA) - Results

Chad Reed wins Monster Energy® SX Championship

Team San Manuel Yamaha’s Chad Reed won Monster Energy® Supercross, an FIM World Championship before 39,227 fans at a sold-out Sam Boyd Stadium. Reed, who won the 2004 AMA Supercross class championship, also won the main event. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey won the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout in the AMA Supercross Lites class main event.
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Chad Reed (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Motocross
Red Bull Honda Racing’s Davi Millsaps opened the AMA Supercross class main event by winning the Progressive Holeshot Award, and Windham trailed in second. Reed started in seventh place. On lap three Windham passed Millsaps and secured the lead. Reed worked his way through the pack and passed Windham for the lead on lap 13 to claim the ninth win of the season. Red Bull Honda Racing’s Andrew Short finished third.
"I worked my butt of this year," said Reed. "I had a new bike this year, and that made my job a lot easier. It has been a great season for me this year. This is very special. It was unfortunate that James Stewart, the defending champion, got hurt, but this was a great year for us."
Reed’s mechanic, Oscar Wirdeman, was awarded a 2008 Toyota Tundra truck as the season’s top mechanic.

AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Las Vegas:

  1. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 25 points
  2. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 22
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 20
  4. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 18
  5. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 16
  6. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 15
  7. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 14
  8. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 13
  9. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 12
  10. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 11
  11. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 10
  12. Paul P. Carpenter (Honda), 9
  13. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 8
  14. Kelly D. Smith (Kawasaki), 7
  15. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 6
  16. Kevin W. Johnson (Yamaha), 5
  17. Tyler Bright (Honda), 4
  18. Joshua Hansen (Honda), 3
  19. Robbie L. Reynard (Suzuki), 2
  20. Eric Sorby (Honda), 1

AMA Supercross Series Season Standing:

  1. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 365 points
  2. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 352
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 281
  4. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 278
  5. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 228
  6. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 218
  7. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha), 173
  8. David Vuillemin (Suzuki), 169
  9. Nicholas A. Wey (KTM), 159
  10. Paul P. Carpenter (Honda), 145
  11. Charles J. Summey (Yamaha), 144
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 130
  13. Travis A. Preston (Kawasaki), 109
  14. Jason W. Thomas (Honda), 101
  15. Eric Sorby (Honda), 84
  16. Troy K. Adams (Honda), 74
  17. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 69
  18. Jacob Marsack (Honda), 66
  19. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 53
  20. Jeff Gibson (Kawasaki), 52
  21. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 51
  22. Joshua Hansen (Yamaha), 49
  23. James Stewart (Kawasaki), 47
  24. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 45
  25. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda), 40
Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
In the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout, Dungey followed Progressive Holeshot Award winner Ryan Villopoto’s Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki. It quickly became a two-horse race as Villopoto and Dungey pulled away from the field. Villopoto led the first 14 laps while Dungey inched in Villopoto’s lead. On the last lap, Dungey, who won last year’s Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout, passed Villopoto and rode to victory. Dungey was awarded a brand new 2008 Toyota Tundra truck for winning the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout. Geico Honda’s Trey Canard finished third.
"To win this race two years in a row is huge for me," said Dungey. "It was a very special win for me because I came from behind and rode smart. I lost some time in the beginning of the race, and I was able to find my grove as the race progressed."

Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki)
  2. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki)
  3. Trey G. Canard (Honda)
  4. Dan Reardon (Honda)
  5. Ryan Morais (Yamaha)
  6. Justin D. Brayton (KTM)
  7. Brett Metcalfe (Kawasaki)
  8. Kyle P. Chisholm (Kawasaki)
  9. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha)
  10. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki)
  11. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha)
  12. Robert S. Kiniry (Honda)
  13. Wil A. Hahn (Yamaha)
  14. Justin F. Keeney (Honda)
  15. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki)
  16. Kyle B. Cunningham (Honda)
  17. Tyler T. Bowers (Yamaha)
  18. Matt Boni (Honda)
  19. Ryan Sipes (KTM)
  20. Ben Coisy (Honda)
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact