Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
12.01.2009 AMA Supercross Series in Phoenix (USA) - Results

Stewart Bounces Back and Wins Monster Energy® Supercross Race at Chase Field

San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart won his first Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race of the season at Chase Field in front of 46,566 fans. JGRMX/Yamaha/Toyota’s Josh Grant opened the AMA Supercross class main event with the holeshot. Stewart and Reed trailed Grant through turn one, and by the end of lap one, Stewart moved into the lead. Reed made his move around Grant on lap three and secured second place.
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
Reed spent the next 17 laps pursuing Stewart but was unable to make the pass. The win marked Stewart’s third consecutive at Chase Field.
Podium Supercross Class / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
Podium Supercross Class / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
"I knew that Chad (Reed) would make it tough on me tonight," said Stewart. "That is the type of racing that we love to do, and I am pumped because I picked up the win."
"I felt good tonight," said Reed. "I was chasing the #7 bike down and having fun but it wasn’t enough. I will take the championship week by week and stay on the podium."

AMA Supercross Class Results, Phoenix:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 20
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 18
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 16
  6. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 15
  7. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki) 14
  8. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 13
  9. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki) 12
  10. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 11
  11. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 10
  12. Charles J. Summey (KTM) 9
  13. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki) 8
  14. Travis A. Preston (KTM) 7
  15. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha) 6
  16. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki) 5
  17. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 4
  18. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 3
  19. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 2
  20. Matt Boni (Honda) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 45 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 42
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 38
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 33
  5. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 30
  6. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 30
  7. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 27
  8. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 21
  9. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 20
  10. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 20
  11. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 19
  12. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 18
  13. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 18
  14. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 14
  15. Ben Coisy (Honda), 13
  16. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 10
  17. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 8
  18. Matt Boni (Honda), 8
  19. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 8
  20. Travis A. Preston (KTM) 7
Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey picked up his first Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class win of the season and moved into the championship points lead. Last week’s winner Jake Weimer pushed his Pro Circuit Kawasaki into the lead through turn one as he picked up the holeshot with Dungey and P.J. Larsen following in second and third respectively.
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: Suzuki Racing
While leading on lap six, Weimer crashed and allowed Dungey to assume the lead and MDK/KTM’s Justin Brayton to move into second place. Dungey finished the race off by completing six solid laps en route to the win. Brayton finished second and Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ryan Morais finished third.
"After I saw Jake (Weimer) crash, I knew there were plenty of laps left in the race, so I needed to be smart and consistent," said Dungey. "I’m happy to move into the points lead as we head back to Anaheim next weekend."

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Phoenix:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) 25 points
  2. Justin D. Brayton (KTM) 22
  3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki) 20
  4. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki) 18
  5. Chris Blose (Honda) 16
  6. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 15
  7. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 14
  8. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha) 13
  9. Ben D. Evans (Honda) 12
  10. Dan Reardon (Honda) 11
  11. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 10
  12. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda) 9
  13. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 8
  14. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda) 7
  15. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM) 6
  16. Alex J. Martin (Honda) 5
  17. Topher C. Ingalls (Yamaha) 4
  18. Michael R. Blose (Honda) 3
  19. Daniel L. Hendrix (Honda) 2
  20. Ryan D. Clark (Honda) 1

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 45 points
  2. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki), 43
  3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki), 42
  4. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 36
  5. Chris Blose (Honda), 34
  6. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 29
  7. Ben D. Evans (Honda), 24
  8. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha), 18
  9. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda), 17
  10. Jason Lawrence (Yamaha), 16
  11. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 15
  12. Jeff Alessi (Honda), 13
  13. Dan Reardon (Honda), 13
  14. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 13
  15. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 11
  16. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 11
  17. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 10
  18. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM), 10
  19. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda), 9
  20. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 8
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact