Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
02.02.2009 AMA Supercross Series in Houston (USA) - Results

Stewart Makes it Four in a Row at AT&T Park

James Stewart won his fourth consecutive Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at AT&T Park before 39,414 fans. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawa- saki’s Jake Weimer won his second Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race, snapping the two-race win streak of Ryan Dungey, who rides for the Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s team.
James Stewart / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
James Stewart / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
After setting the fastest lap time in today’s practice, Stewart, who rides for the San Manuel Yamaha team, grabbed the holeshot to start the AMA Supercross class main event with Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto following in second and third respectively. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed started in fourth and moved into second place on lap three.
Reed, who went on to finish in second place, spent the rest of the race chasing Stewart but had little luck in making up ground. Villopoto finished third.
"We are working really hard this year," said Stewart. "I felt good tonight and the track was tough. It was an awesome night for me."
"I still have the points lead," said Reed. "Right now that is important and we go back to Anaheim next weekend, so we will work to get better."

AMA Supercross Class Results, Houston:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki) 20
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 18
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 16
  6. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 15
  7. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 14
  8. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 13
  9. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 12
  10. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 11
  11. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 10
  12. Ben Coisy (Honda) 9
  13. Cole T. Siebler (Honda) 8
  14. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 7
  15. Daniel McCoy (Honda) 6
  16. Tyler T. Bowers (Honda) 5
  17. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 4
  18. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 3
  19. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki) 2
  20. Steve Boniface (Honda) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 108 points
  2. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 102
  3. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 95
  4. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 88
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 87
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 73
  7. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 68
  8. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 58
  9. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 56
  10. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 55
  11. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 51
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 40
  13. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 39
  14. Ben Coisy (Honda), 31
  15. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 26
  16. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 23
  17. Matt Boni (Honda), 15
  18. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 13
  19. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 11
  20. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 11
  21. Steve Boniface (Honda), 10
  22. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 10
  23. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 9
  24. Travis A. Preston (KTM) 7
  25. Daniel McCoy (Honda) 6
Weimer opened the AMA Supercross Lites class main event with the holeshot leading Suzuki’s Cole Seely through turn one. Dungey started in fourth and by the end of lap one he moved into second place. GEICO Powersports’ Trey Canard moved into third place on lap three.
Jake Weimer / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Jake Weimer / Photo by: AMA Supercross
After failing to pass Weimer on the first 11 laps of the main event, Dungey made the pass and lost his front end, causing him to crash. The crash allowed Canard to move into second place. Dungey remounted, passed Canard for second where he finished. Canard earned a season-best third place.
"I earned the first podium of my career here in San Francisco, so this is a special place for me," said Weimer. "I rode a smart and calm race tonight. Ryan (Dungey) was riding great, but it’s good for me to pick up the win."

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Houston:

  1. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki) 25 points
  2. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) 22
  3. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 20
  4. Justin D. Brayton (KTM) 18
  5. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki) 16
  6. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 15
  7. Dan Reardon (Honda) 14
  8. Kyle B. Cunningham (Kawasaki) 13
  9. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 12
  10. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 11
  11. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 10
  12. Justin F. Keeney (KTM) 9
  13. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda) 8
  14. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda) 7
  15. Chris Blose (Honda) 6
  16. Topher C. Ingalls (Yamaha) 5
  17. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM) 4
  18. Brady A. Sheren (Suzuki) 3
  19. Sean T. Collier (Yamaha) 2
  20. Jeff Alessi (Honda) 1

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 92 points
  2. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki), 88
  3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki), 80
  4. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 68
  5. Chris Blose (Honda), 56
  6. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 54
  7. Dan Reardon (Honda), 42
  8. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 38
  9. Jason Lawrence (Yamaha), 34
  10. Ben D. Evans (Honda), 31
  11. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 20
  12. Kyle B. Cunningham (Kawasaki) 27
  13. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 27
  14. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda), 24
  15. Jeff Alessi (Honda), 23
  16. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 20
  17. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM), 19
  18. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha), 18
  19. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 17
  20. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda), 17
  21. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 16
  22. Michael L. Hall (Yamaha) 12
  23. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 11
  24. Justin F. Keeney (KTM) 9
  25. Topher C. Ingalls (Yamaha) 9
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact