Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
09.02.2009 AMA Supercross Series in Anaheim (USA) - Results

Stewart grabs streaks to fifth straight victory

The penultimate round in California produced a lot of excitement as 43,812 diehard fans braved the rain and cold temperatures inside Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California to witness San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart take his fifth consecutive win of the 2009 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed brought home his fifth straight second place finish to retain the points lead. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer garnered his third win in the AMA Arenacross Lites class and grabbed the class points lead.
Angel Stadium in Anaheim / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Angel Stadium in Anaheim / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Stewart led the field through the first corner with Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps, and JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha’s Josh Grant in tow. The 2007 series champion never looked back and led all 20 laps of the main event. Reed found himself mad pack and moved into the top five by lap 2.
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Reed would continue his charge, breaking into the top three on lap 5 and second on lap 7. He maintained a blistering pace to close in on Stewart, but settled for the runner-up spot. Millsaps held of the late charges of teammate Ivan Tedesco to take third.
"Man it was crazy out there," explained Stewart. "I was just riding out there and realized it was raining. We got one more race out here in California and so far it’s been good. The thanks really goes out to my team. Larry Brooks, San Manuel, and all the crew they’ve been awesome this year."
"It was sketchy," said Reed. "I just tried to put in some consistent laps. The guys put the bike together for the mud and we just tried as hard as we could. Starts are part of the race. I just need to work on them. I really want to thank my team Rockstar/Makita Suzuki. I’m definitely feeling a lot better now than I have been."

AMA Supercross Class Results, Anaheim:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 20
  4. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 18
  5. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 16
  6. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 15
  7. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 14
  8. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 13
  9. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 12
  10. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki) 11
  11. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 10
  12. Matt Boni (Honda) 9
  13. Steve Boniface (Honda) 8
  14. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki) 7
  15. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha) 6
  16. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 5
  17. Daniel McCoy (Honda) 4
  18. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 3
  19. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 2
  20. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 130 points
  2. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 127
  3. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 111
  4. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 102
  5. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 91
  6. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 88
  7. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 82
  8. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 75
  9. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 68
  10. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 67
  11. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 64
  12. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 46
  13. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 45
  14. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 32
  15. Ben Coisy (Honda), 31
  16. Matt Boni (Honda), 24
  17. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 23
  18. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 23
  19. Steve Boniface (Honda), 18
  20. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 13
  21. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 12
  22. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 12
  23. Daniel McCoy (Honda) 10
  24. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 10
  25. Travis A. Preston (KTM) 7
Weimer opened the AMA Supercross Lites main event with a mid-pack start but worked his way to the front behind leader Justin Brayton before the conclusion of lap one. The two riders engaged in a heated battle until lap eight when Weimer made the winning pass and brought teammate Ryan Morais along with him. Morais would stay close, keeping Weimer honest to bring home a runner-up finish. Brayton maintained his hold on third.
Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
"Yeh this is a huge win for sure," said Weimer. "Once I got by Justin (Brayton) I just kept my head down and tried to ride consistent for the rest of the main. It feels great to take the points lead and the momentum into San Diego next weekend."

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Anaheim:

  1. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki) 25 points
  2. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki) 22
  3. Justin D. Brayton (KTM) 20
  4. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) 18
  5. Jeff Alessi (Honda) 16
  6. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 15
  7. Dan Reardon (Honda) 14
  8. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 13
  9. Chris Blose (Honda) 12
  10. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 11
  11. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda) 10
  12. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 9
  13. Ryan D. Clark (Honda) 8
  14. Jake Moss (Honda) 7
  15. Kyle B. Cunningham (Kawasaki) 6
  16. Ben D. Evans (Honda) 5
  17. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda) 4
  18. Derek J. Costella (Honda) 3
  19. Justin F. Keeney (KTM) 2
  20. Daniel L. Hendrix (Honda) 1

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki), 113 points
  2. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 110
  3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki), 102
  4. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 88
  5. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 69
  6. Chris Blose (Honda), 68
  7. Dan Reardon (Honda), 56
  8. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 51
  9. Jeff Alessi (Honda), 39
  10. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 38
  11. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 36
  12. Ben D. Evans (Honda), 36
  13. Jason Lawrence (Yamaha), 34
  14. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda), 34
  15. Kyle B. Cunningham (Kawasaki) 33
  16. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 25
  17. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda), 21
  18. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 20
  19. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM), 19
  20. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha), 18
  21. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 16
  22. Michael L. Hall (Yamaha) 12
  23. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 11
  24. Justin F. Keeney (KTM) 11
  25. Topher C. Ingalls (Yamaha) 9
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact