Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
16.02.2009 AMA Supercross Series in San Diego (USA) - Results

Stewart grabs share of points lead in San Diego

Before the 2009 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, moves east, the world’s best riders brought the action to a close in the state of California as San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart extended his winning streak to six races at Qualcomm Stadium. In the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey reclaimed the Western Regional championship points lead with his third win of the season.
Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Over the past six races, Stewart completely erased the 23-point deficit he faced after the season-opening race in Anaheim, Calif., and now sits in a tie with rival and reigning champion Chad Reed. The Rockstar/Makita Suzuki rider has been the picture of consistency this season, finishing on the podium in every race, capped off by a runner-up finish tonight to give him six straight second-place efforts behind Stewart.
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha Racing
Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi grabbed the holeshot in the 20-lap main event with Stewart and Reed in tow. The class’ top two riders quickly made their move around Alessi and gapped the field. Reed kept pace with Stewart for a couple laps, but the Yamaha rider slowly pulled away, leading flag-to-flag.
"The track was definitely tough," explained Stewart. "I just had some good luck. The track was slick, but, man, this San Manuel Yamaha was awesome. To come back where we were at, 23-points back, it’s just amazing. (San Diego) is special to me - it gave me my first victory in 2002 so I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for the city."
Chad Reed (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA SUpercross
Chad Reed (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA SUpercross
Reed held of the late charges of both Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto to capture second while Short edged Villopoto at the line for third.
"I got great starts and I was there," stated Reed. "I just wasn’t fast enough. James rode awesome and I want to thank the team for being patient with me all day. I’m happy to be second and once again San Diego was good to me. I want to thank my team and all my sponsors. We’re just keeping it consistent."

AMA Supercross Class Results, San Diego:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 20
  4. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki) 18
  5. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 16
  6. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 15
  7. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 14
  8. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 13
  9. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha) 12
  10. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 11
  11. Charles J. Summey (KTM) 10
  12. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 9
  13. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 8
  14. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki) 7
  15. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 6
  16. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 5
  17. Steve Boniface (Honda) 4
  18. Ben Coisy (Honda) 3
  19. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 2
  20. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 152 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 152
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 122
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 112
  5. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 106
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 102
  7. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 96
  8. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 91
  9. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 83
  10. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 74
  11. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 64
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 51
  13. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 46
  14. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 44
  15. Ben Coisy (Honda), 34
  16. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 31
  17. Matt Boni (Honda), 24
  18. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 23
  19. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 23
  20. Steve Boniface (Honda), 22
  21. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 17
  22. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 13
  23. Joshua Hansen (Honda) 12
  24. Daniel McCoy (Honda) 10
  25. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki), 10
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Dungey led the field into the first corner, but was edged out for the holeshot by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ryan Morais while GEICO Powersports Honda’s Dan Reardon followed in third. Points leader Jake Weimer garnered a mid-pack start aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki but began to work his way through the field. Dungey led every lap of the main event and carries a 2-point lead into a seven-week break for the Western Regional championship. Morais earned a runner-up finish while Weimer worked his way up to third.
"I’m really pumped," said Dungey. "I think I really rode an awesome race form start to finish. Sometimes when you’re given that kind of opportunity you need to take advantage of it and I think I did that tonight. I just want to thank my team, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki for everything."

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, San Diego:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki) 25 points
  2. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki) 22
  3. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki) 20
  4. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 18
  5. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 16
  6. Justin D. Brayton (KTM) 15
  7. Chris Blose (Honda) 14
  8. Jake Moss (Honda) 13
  9. Jeff Alessi (Honda) 12
  10. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 11
  11. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 10
  12. Ben D. Evans (Honda) 9
  13. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda) 8
  14. Derek J. Costella (Honda) 7
  15. Alex J. Martin (Honda) 6
  16. Michael J. Lapaglia (Suzuki) 5
  17. Ryan D. Clark (Honda) 4
  18. Dan Reardon (Honda) 3
  19. Danny R. Bajza (Honda) 2
  20. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM) 1

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Ryan M. Dungey (Suzuki), 135 points
  2. Jake T. Weimer (Kawasaki), 133
  3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki), 124
  4. Justin D. Brayton (KTM), 103
  5. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 85
  6. Chris Blose (Honda), 82
  7. Dan Reardon (Honda), 59
  8. Trey G. Canard (Honda) 54
  9. Jeff Alessi (Honda), 51
  10. P. J. Larsen (Kawasaki) 51
  11. Eric J. McCrummen (Honda) 48
  12. Ben D. Evans (Honda), 45
  13. Jason Lawrence (Yamaha), 34
  14. Adam B. Chatfield (Honda), 34
  15. Kyle B. Cunningham (Kawasaki) 33
  16. Cole Seely (Suzuki) 31
  17. Ryan D. Clark (Honda), 29
  18. Sean D. Borkenhagen (Honda), 29
  19. Jake Moss (Honda) 20
  20. Michael J. Sleeter (KTM), 20
  21. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha), 18
  22. Shaun J. Skinner (Honda), 16
  23. Michael L. Hall (Yamaha) 12
  24. Christopher Gosselaar (Kawasaki), 11
  25. Justin F. Keeney (KTM) 11
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact