Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
01.03.2009 AMA Supercross Series in Indianapolis (USA) - Results

Reed snaps Stewart’s steak and ties Monster Energy® Supercross points lead

Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed won his first AMA Supercross race of the 2009 season at the inaugural race inside Lucas Oil Stadium before 61,538 fans, tying the AMA Super- cross class points race. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Austin Stroupe won the first Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race of his 2009 season.
Chad Reed (Suzuki) vs. James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Chad Reed (Suzuki) vs. James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Reed opened the AMA Supercross class main event with the holeshot, leading his Rockstar/Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi, and San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart through turn one. The next 20 laps would be the Reed/Stewart show.
On lap two Stewart crashed while chasing Reed and remounted to stage an impressive comeback. Stewart, who had seven consecutive race wins coming into tonight’s race, passed Reed on lap 13. While Reed trailed Stewart’s back wheel for the next three laps, Stewart crashed for the second time and allowed Reed enough of a gap to ride off to victory. This marks Reed’s first win of the 2009 season, and the AMA Supercross class points race between Reed and Stewart is now tied heading into next weekend’s race in Daytona. Stewart finished second and Alessi finished third with his first ever podium spot.
Podium Class Supercross / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Podium Class Supercross / Photo by: AMA Supercross
"I knew that if I had a good start I could give myself a chance," said Reed. "James (Stewart) has been riding awesome, and I want to take that next step. James made a mistake and I snuck around to get the win. This Indianapolis crowd made me feel like I was in front of my hometown crowd back in Australia because they were so loud and supportive."
"I didn’t think the race would be that good," said Stewart. "It was a good race, and I made a few mistakes. Chad deserves to win; he rode great tonight. I felt good tonight and this is the right way to break in Lucas Oil Stadium."

AMA Supercross Class Results, Indianapolis:

  1. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 25 points
  2. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 22
  3. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 20
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 18
  5. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 16
  6. Ben Coisy (Honda) 15
  7. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 14
  8. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 13
  9. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki) 12
  10. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki) 11
  11. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 10
  12. Matt Boni (Honda) 9
  13. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 8
  14. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 7
  15. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 6
  16. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha) 5
  17. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki) 4
  18. Tyler T. Bowers (Honda) 3
  19. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 2
  20. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 199 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 199
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 150
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 138
  5. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 138
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 132
  7. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 116
  8. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 113
  9. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 112
  10. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 98
  11. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 82
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 59
  13. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 55
  14. Ben Coisy (Honda), 51
  15. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 46
  16. Matt Boni (Honda), 42
  17. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 38
  18. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 26
  19. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 24
  20. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 23
  21. Steve Boniface (Honda), 22
  22. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 21
  23. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 20
  24. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 16
  25. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki) 14
After a re-start in the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel picked up the holeshot with his teammate Stroupe following in a close second. On the second lap Stroupe made an aggressive pass on Pourcel to move into the lead. Yamaha’s Matt Lemoine spent the early stages of the race in third place but was passed by Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi on lap nine.
Austin Stroupe (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Austin Stroupe (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Stroupe earned the victory, which was the second of his career, Pourcel finished second and Izzi third.
"It was a great day for me," said Stroupe. "The first turn was pretty rough for us, but I was glad to get through there clean. This is a huge crowd and this is an awesome new venue."

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Indianapolis:

  1. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 25 points
  2. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 22
  3. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki) 20
  4. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 18
  5. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 16
  6. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda) 15
  7. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 14
  8. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 13
  9. Shane M. Sewell (Yamaha) 12
  10. Kyle D. Keylon (Honda) 11
  11. Vince A. Friese (Honda) 10
  12. Bradley J. Ripple (Honda) 9
  13. Kyle M. Gills (Kawasaki) 8
  14. Ryan N. Smith (Suzuki) 7
  15. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 6
  16. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 5
  17. Tyler A. Wharton (Honda) 4
  18. Phillip J. Nicoletti (Honda) 3
  19. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 2
  20. Martin Davalos (KTM) 1

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 72 points
  2. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki) 62
  3. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 57
  4. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 43
  5. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 36
  6. Martin Davalos (KTM) 35
  7. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 35
  8. Blake Wharton (Honda) 34
  9. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 29
  10. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 26
  11. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda) 24
  12. Matthew C. Goerke (Suzuki) 23
  13. Brett Metcalfe (Honda) 22
  14. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 22
  15. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 19
  16. Tyler A. Wharton (Honda) 19
  17. Vince A. Friese (Honda) 17
  18. Bradley J. Ripple (Honda) 17
  19. Shane M. Sewell (Yamaha) 12
  20. Kyle M. Gills (Kawasaki) 12
  21. Kyle D. Keylon (Honda) 11
  22. Ryan N. Smith (Suzuki) 7
  23. Hunter Hewitt (Kawasaki) 7
  24. Teddy P. Parks (Suzuki) 7
  25. Fred D. Karrle (Suzuki) 5
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact