Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
15.03.2009 AMA Supercross Series in New Orleans (USA) - Results

Stewart answers back

Team San Manuel Yamaha's James Stewart won his eighth race of the 2009 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross season before 36,754 fans at the Superdome. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Austin Stroupe won his second Eastern Regional AMA Supercross class main event of the season and moved into second place in points standings.
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Stewart jumped out to an early lead with the holeshot as Reed was on his back wheel to start the AMA Supercross class main event. After winning the previous two races, Reed spent the 20-lap race chasing Stewart, who put down 20 perfect laps. Reed settled for second and Stewart moves within eight points of Reed's championship points lead. Yamaha's Broc Hepler picked up his first podium of the season with a third-place finish.
"I got a great start," said Stewart. "I had to win tonight - point blank. I had to win. This is what I needed heading into the race next weekend in St. Louis."

AMA Supercross Class Results, New Orleans:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 20
  4. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 18
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 16
  6. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 15
  7. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 14
  8. Justin D. Brayton (KTM) 13
  9. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki) 12
  10. Matt Boni (Honda) 11
  11. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 10
  12. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha) 9
  13. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 8
  14. Tyler T. Bowers (Honda) 7
  15. Nathan Ramsey (Yamaha) 6
  16. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 5
  17. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 4
  18. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 3
  19. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 2
  20. Robert S. Kiniry (Kawasaki) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 246 points
  2. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 238
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 179
  4. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 165
  5. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 152
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 148
  7. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 146
  8. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 146
  9. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 139
  10. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 102
  11. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 100
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 70
  13. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 64
  14. Matt Boni (Honda), 56
  15. Ben Coisy (Honda), 55
  16. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 49
  17. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 46
  18. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 45
  19. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 27
  20. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 27
  21. Tyler T. Bowers (Honda) 25
  22. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 25
  23. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 24
  24. Cole T. Siebler (Honda), 23
  25. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 22
Stroupe rocketed off to a great start in the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event, picking up the holeshot and riding to victory. GEICO Powersports' Tyler Wharton trailed Stroupe through turn one in second place but crashed a few turns later, handing the position to his teammate Daniel Blair. Current Lites class points leader Christophe Pourcel started the main event in 12th place and moved into the fourth-place position on the last lap. On lap three former AMA Supercross Lites class champion Brandon Jesseman made a pass on Blair to secure the number-two position. From there it was give and take as Jesseman would close up a bit and then Stroupe would regain the advantage. In the end, Jesseman held his position and picked up the first podium of his season. Tyler Wharton's brother Blake worked his way through the pack and earned a career-best third place finish.
Austin Stroupe (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Austin Stroupe (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
"It was a technical track tonight, so I had to ride smart," said Stroupe. "It was important to get the holeshot because I was able to get out front and ride my own race."

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, New Orleans:

  1. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 25 points
  2. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 22
  3. Blake Wharton (Honda) 20
  4. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 18
  5. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 16
  6. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 15
  7. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 14
  8. Broc Tickle (Yamaha) 13
  9. Matthew C. Goerke (Suzuki) 12
  10. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 11
  11. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda) 10
  12. Dennis G. Jonon (Kawasaki) 9
  13. Tyler A. Wharton (Honda) 8
  14. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 7
  15. Teddy P. Parks (Suzuki) 6
  16. Chad E. Ward (Kawasaki) 5
  17. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 4
  18. Phillip J. Nicoletti (Honda) 3
  19. Bryan K. Johnson (Honda) 2
  20. Jason W. Thomas (Honda) 1

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 115 points
  2. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 84
  3. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki) 82
  4. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 73
  5. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 68
  6. Blake Wharton (Honda) 66
  7. Martin Davalos (KTM) 57
  8. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 51
  9. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 51
  10. Matthew C. Goerke (Suzuki) 50
  11. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 50
  12. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 48
  13. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda) 43
  14. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 29
  15. Tyler A. Wharton (Honda) 27
  16. Broc Tickle (Yamaha) 26
  17. Vince A. Friese (Honda) 24
  18. Brett Metcalfe (Honda) 22
  19. Kyle D. Keylon (Honda) 22
  20. Bradley J. Ripple (Honda) 20
  21. Shane M. Sewell (Yamaha) 18
  22. Teddy P. Parks (Suzuki) 13
  23. Kyle M. Gills (Kawasaki) 12
  24. Dennis G. Jonon (Kawasaki) 9
  25. Ryan N. Smith (Suzuki) 7
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact