Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
International MX News : MX / SX in the USA
05.04.2009 AMA Supercross Series in Jacksonville (USA) - Results

Stewart scores 10th win at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium

Team San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart won his 10th AMA Supercross class race at the inaugural Monster Energy® AMA Supercross at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium before 31,653 fans. Stewart’s win narrowed current AMA Supercross class point leader Chad Reed’s points deficit to just five. Just one week after clinching the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class championship, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel won his fifth main event of the season.
Jacksonville Municipal Stadium / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Jacksonville Municipal Stadium / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi started the AMA Supercross class main event by winning the holeshot followed closely by his teammate and current points leader Chad Reed. Reed moved past Alessi in turn two and secured the lead and Stewart snuck into second place.
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha
James Stewart (Yamaha) / Photo by: Yamaha
Stewart tried to set Reed up in a few different sections but the Australian held his ground. Stewart stalked Reed for 13 long laps before he made a pass on the defending champion. Reed answered back and took over the lead on the same lap. Just one lap later, Stewart re-passed Reed and rode to his 10th victory of the season. Reed finished second and GEICO Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham.
"I had fun out there tonight," said Reed. "I tried to be smooth and consistent out there. This was a great race, and we have three more left on the season. It’s time for me to get up there and go to battle."
"It was a great race, and we actually collided over the triple jump, but that’s racing," said Stewart. "I look forward to the next race in Seattle."

AMA Supercross Class Results, Jacksonville:

  1. James M. Stewart (Yamaha) 25 points
  2. Chad Reed (Suzuki) 22
  3. Kevin W. Windham (Honda) 20
  4. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha) 18
  5. Andrew T. Short (Honda) 16
  6. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki) 15
  7. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 14
  8. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 13
  9. Heath D. Voss (Honda) 12
  10. Billy R. Laninovich (Kawasaki) 11
  11. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 10
  12. Ben Coisy (Honda) 9
  13. Ivan Tedesco (Honda) 8
  14. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 7
  15. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 6
  16. Matt Boni (Honda) 5
  17. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha) 4
  18. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha) 3
  19. David D. Millsaps (Honda) 2
  20. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki) 1

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Chad Reed (Suzuki), 315 points
  2. James M. Stewart (Yamaha), 310
  3. Andrew T. Short (Honda), 225
  4. Joshua M. Grant (Yamaha), 193
  5. Kevin W. Windham (Honda), 193
  6. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 187
  7. Mike A. Alessi (Suzuki), 185
  8. David D. Millsaps (Honda), 168
  9. Ryan D. Villopoto (Kawasaki), 165
  10. Joshua R. Hill (Yamaha), 146
  11. Timmy M. Ferry (Kawasaki), 100
  12. Heath D. Voss (Honda), 86
  13. Matt Boni (Honda), 83
  14. Ben Coisy (Honda), 75
  15. Kyle P. Chisholm (Yamaha) 74
  16. Broc D. Hepler (Yamaha) 70
  17. Nicholas A. Wey (Yamaha), 70
  18. Paul P. Carpenter (Kawasaki), 65
  19. Thomas K. Hahn (Kawasaki) 44
  20. Jason D. Lawrence (Yamaha), 43
  21. Tyler T. Bowers (Honda) 32
  22. Ryan Sipes (KTM) 31
  23. Troy K. Adams (Honda) 31
  24. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 27
  25. Charles J. Summey (KTM), 24
At the final Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race of the season, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi won the holeshot but was quickly removed from the number-one position by Muscle Milk/MDK KTM’s Wil Hahn. Pourcel started in sixth and moved into second place on lap two.
Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) / Photo by: AMA Supercross
Waiting patiently, Pourcel pressured Hahn and passed him on lap eight for the lead and rode to yet another race win. Hahn earned the best finish of his season with a second place finish followed by Monster Energy Supercross/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Austin Stroupe.
"I had a great race tonight," said Pourcel. "This is a great way to end my championship season. I didn’t get the start I wanted but I was able to work my way to the front of the pack."

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Jacksonville:

  1. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 25 points
  2. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 22
  3. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 20
  4. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 18
  5. Blake Wharton (Honda) 16
  6. Broc Tickle (Yamaha) 15
  7. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 14
  8. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 13
  9. Matthew C. Goerke (Suzuki) 12
  10. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 11
  11. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 10
  12. Jason W. Thomas (Honda) 9
  13. Josh M. Lichtle (Honda) 8
  14. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki) 7
  15. Cody L. Gilmore (Honda) 6
  16. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 5
  17. Dennis G. Jonon (Kawasaki) 4
  18. Spencer R. Dally (Honda) 3
  19. Tyler A. Wharton (Yamaha) 2
  20. Vince A. Friese (Honda) 1

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 181 points
  2. Austin L. Stroupe (Kawasaki) 148
  3. Nico A. Izzi (Suzuki) 119
  4. Blake Wharton (Honda) 118
  5. Wil A. Hahn (KTM) 105
  6. Branden L. Jesseman (Kawasaki) 105
  7. Matthew J. Lemoine (Yamaha) 95
  8. Matthew C. Goerke (Suzuki) 94
  9. Daniel M. Blair (Honda) 85
  10. Darryn L. Durham (Yamaha) 82
  11. Steven J. Clarke (Suzuki) 82
  12. Broc Tickle (Yamaha) 61
  13. Martin Davalos (KTM) 57
  14. Jacob Saylor (Yamaha) 45
  15. Levi W. Kilbarger (Honda) 43
  16. Vince A. Friese (Honda) 42
  17. Kyle D. Keylon (Honda) 33
  18. Tyler A. Wharton (Honda) 33
  19. Shane M. Sewell (Yamaha) 29
  20. Jason W. Thomas (Honda) 29
  21. Brett Metcalfe (Honda) 22
  22. Bradley J. Ripple (Honda) 20
  23. Teddy P. Parks (Suzuki) 20
  24. Chad E. Ward (Kawasaki) 17
  25. Cody L. Gilmore (Honda) 16
... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact