Namibian Motocross, Enduro & Offroad Championships
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact
National MX News
International MX News
Enduro News
News from the Teams
Technical News
E-Med Rescue 24
Shell Helix
Team ZENNER Yamaha
Africa Motion Tours
National MX News : AMU Continental Chamionship
15.06.2009 Full Throttle AMU MX-Championship of African Nations

Jägermeister Team South Africa

The Namibian distributors of German herbal liqueur „Jägermeister“ brand are engaged in mx-racing for the past 6 years already. At Gallina Moto Cross Park the afterrace-party is traditionally known as the Jägermeister-Party amongst the Windhoek Youths…the hottest party with the coldest shots, as they say. This vibrant company Messrs Brockmann & Kriess, as Jägermeister distributors, became the patron of Team South Africa.
Ross Branch (BOT)
Ross Branch (BOT)
The Team from South Africa will be led by Team-Captain Ross Branch from Botswana, who is well known in Namibia for many years. Eleven “Kindergarten riders” alone in the M2Racing MX50 Class are competing in Namibia, plus there will be 5 riders lining up in the Safari Den MX65 Class. Contrary to the Namibian classes the AMU differentiates between MX85 and MX Lites, so we will have 5 riders in the Bike & Quad Clinic 85cc Class with the 2008 Champion Matthew Malan as well as the current No. One Nicholas Adams. In the Electrolight MX-Lites Class (85cc Two-stroke and 125cc 4-Stroke motors) the current points-log-leader Justin Mittens will be the boy to look out for.
Michael Kok
Michael Kok
In the Trip Travel MX2 Class category we find some real “Stars” from south of the Orangeriver, riders like Ross Branch, AMU Champion in the years 2003 and 2007 and multiple hero in the annual Namibian Inter-Series. Ross Brach also competed for several years overseas for some well known Teams like Bodo Schmidt, Pfeil-Kawasaki and Sturm Kawasaki GP-Team. Another rider well known in southern Africa is Michael Kok, the AMU Champion in 2004, national Champion in 2008 and currently ranked 2nd in the South African national Championship MX2 Class. Another name well known in Namibia is Wade Den, 85cc AMU Champion in 2007 and currently ranging in 4th place of the SA-Championship. Brad Purchase won the 2004 AMU 85cc Class and will be accompanied by countrymen Anthony Raynard currently 4th in the MX2 Class and Matt Geldenhuys currently leading the points-log. The aforementioned riders race for the nations-rating while there are some individuals as well, riders like Carr Lebatha from Botswana racing under the South african flag and Michael Parkinson from Gauteng.
Brandon Wheeler
Brandon Wheeler
The best for last, in the Novel Motor Company MX1 Class we find multiple SA-Champion Brandon Wheeler who also won five AMU Championships in the past and is the reigning AMU Champion. Brandon impressed in the 2008 Inter-Series in Namibia and gets sponsored by Honda-Pupkewitz who supply Brandon with an “out-of-the-box” Honda bike. Darryl Fitzgerald is another well known name in southern Africa, he is the reigning Supermoto-Champion, currently ranked second in the MX2 Class in South Africa and he raced successfully in Supercross-Series in Germany and Australia. Must I introduce Geoff Den? He’s the most well known rider in Namibia, having competed in ten Inter-Series in the past, won two times the SA Masters Championships in 2001 and 2002 and currently ranked 3rd overall. Geoff gets accompanied by ex-Champs Gary van Heerden, Craig Kruger and Glen Brydges who compete as individuals. This is a strong line-up from South Africa who are keen to win once more the nations rating.
Geoff Den
Geoff Den
The Jägermeister-Party which is being held in the Jägermeister-Party-Barn on 27th of June are legend! The great chance to chat with the MX-Stars from Soth Africa! Live-band “Final Chapter” and Gallina’s own DJ-CoCo will play their hot rhythms and Windhoek's youth will surge to Gallina by the dozen. It will be the rave-up! A Party not to be missed, that's for sure!
Author: Bernd Kroemer ... [back]
Home News Schedules Results Riders & Teams Photos Our Sponsors Links Forum Contact